We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Touch of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Touch of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

For the last 30 plus years I have been taking my family to Fla Keys. Coming from Michigan you can see this is quite the treat leaving the snow and cold behind. My family had a house on Marathon when I was growing up, but transplanted to the north many years ago. Since then there is only one place we would ever go and that is Rainbow. We love everything about it, the rooms, café, staff and my favorite is having access to your own boat. If your looking for the tranquility of the old keys, this is the place.
The Anderson family, Clarkston Mi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    203
    42
    37
    87
See reviews for
213
318
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

You can pay more but you won't get better service. We drove down to the Keys without a reservation, nonetheless the staff set us up with a great room at an affordable price. We did not take advantage of the boat option which worked for us, and the staff provided great tips on where to go and what to do. Totally and completely relaxing and affordable.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craigjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my return trip & it was all that our first trip was & more. This time we had spectacular Fl. Keys vacation. We used the boats that come with the room twice daily. Mornings to fish & afternoons to snorkel at the nearby sandbars. We used the BBQ' for our catch - YUMMY !!
We also used the kayaks also included in the price of the room to get to a nearby sandbar.
Rainbow Bend is not "The Ritz" in terms of room quality but the service is as good & friendlier than many of the Ritz hotels. The entire staff wants your stay to be as enjoyable as they can help make it. Robert at the boat docks will advise where to go to maximize your fun. Whether it be fishing, snorkeling or sightseeing he can tell you where to go.
Of course it can not go unmentioned the breakfasts at the "Hideaway Cafe" are great & included in your room price.
Can't wait for our next visit !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Learn from our very expensive mistake. No human beings should have to suffer through the moldy smell of the large family rooms we were offered. We left after the first night of the 2 night minimum forfeiting $300 plus to stay somewhere safe and mold free for less money Tranquility Bay. It was the difference between heaven and hell!!!! It is my firm belief the health dept should shut those rooms down! The breakfast was good and the "free" boats were a great feature but not worth the health risk. Stay somewhere else and rent a boat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrssurfgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

great location but that is where the fun stops. entire facility is in need of repair and upgrade. rooms smell of mold. we booked two nights and only stayed one because multiple members of the family had sensitivity to the moldy smell. we prepaid for two nights but staff offered no refund on 2nd night. multiple members of staff pressured us into leaving by 4 pm first day even though we paid up through 2nd day. we all left wondering how this place can stay in business at such high rates. we moved down the road and stayed at tranquility bay for a very positive experience for our 2nd night.

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd level may be dryer and have less moisture. after our contention with the smell staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vintagesurf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stay here every year at least once. The rooms are always clean and the staff is always friendly. Restaurant on site is outstanding! The kicker is the boat, each room gets daily 4hr use of a 14ft Boston Whaler, and the fishing opportunities are endless! Going to stay in the Octagon room next visit, can't wait!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the site map to see where your room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been to Rainbow Bend several times since our first 'stop' there in summer of 1982. We have stayed there with our young family, now all grown. We have stayed there with several other couples we traveled with (all loved it) and now we stay there when we are looking for a getaway just for the 2 of us. A quiet, relaxing atmosphere and the friendliest group of folks, both staff and other patrons. People are happy there. The restaurant is impeccable, the very very best around. But if you want to venture out to other places to eat...just ask the staff at the office, they will not steer you wrong!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phb917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Lime Tree Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Long Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Property: Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Address: 57784 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-5626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Bend Fishing Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing