We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of updating!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of updating!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The location is excellent and this could a very nice resort but it needs a lot of updating! Very over priced for the condition of the rooms, boats and the grounds.

The room smelled horrible and the bathroom had a strong mold smell and the window wouldn't open to air out. All of the blinds were non functioning so it was hard to enjoy the views...the windows were filthy anyway so even if the blinds would have opened properly it wouldn't have been clear view. I don't think the windows were cleaned in a very long time.

The grounds need updating too. The lawnchairs are old and missing slats and not enough for the amount of rooms they have. The tiki huts have missing thatch and could use some sprucing up. The sand could use raking to even out the surface and tiding it up a little. The palm trees need trimming to remove the dead branches.

The boats are pretty old. They are not really free because you are charged a minimum gas fee regardless if you use any and can only use for 4 hours at a time. The boats have to be in at 4 pm so you are very limted with the use...not sure if they stay open later during the summer.

The restaurant: Very limited "included with stay" breakfast. Very nice waiter! Dinner menu not my preference. Would have preferred a place to grab a burger and tropical beverage while enjoying the views, beach and pool.

Very nice pool and hot tub area.

The entire staff was very nice and helpful!

Overall COULD be a very nice place but don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    225
    51
    40
    96
See reviews for
237
365
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was kind of scared to try this place as it had a few bad reviews. I was very excited about the free boats though so I tried it. The people are very nice. There are limited business hours, so if you plan to check in late, you need to tell them ahead of time. The free breakfast was great! The french toast was my favorite! We stayed in room #2. It was just a basic guest room with two beds, a fridge and a microwave. just a basic bathroom with a small toliet, sink and a shower. My husband and I are not hard to please. The beach is right there by the door, which was a plus. The boats were perfect for exploring. I loved the fact that we got a boat and could rent the poles and buy bait all right there. Really, it was a steal if you are a fisherman of anykind. It only cost us under $50 to rent two poles, buckets, some snorkle dive gear, pay for gas for the boat and get some bait for two days... Where else can you do that?? There is a very dirty beach by the octogon room but it was not their property. I am not sure why it was so dirty though. The beach in front of the property was nice and clean. You cannot walk out into the water though because after the sand stopped, it was sticky mud. It was still nice. there is a shipwreck about 3 miles out in the water right infront of the hotel if you like to dive. That was fun. It was perfect for out little getaway. If you dont mind basic setting, it was fine. Oh ladies... there is no hairdryer!! Bring one!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wanted lodging for a long weekend that I could use as a springboard to travel to Key West. I thought Rainbow Bend in Marathon would be perfect. However Rainbow Bend is several miles north of "downtown" Marathon, out in the boondocks, adding several more miles every day, and more miles to travel into Marathon to eat, visit a pub, and find necessities, etc.

Rainbow Bend has a restaurant on-site that we did not utilize for dinner. I cannot comment on dinner service, other than to say seating is limited, reservations were suggested, and the menu appeared to offer some unique, high-end, expensive meals. Breakfast is included with the cost of the room and while a full menu is offered, only certain selections are included. Even the “free” breakfast selections are reduced. For example a meat-egg-potato-toast selection gives you 1 sausage patty or 2 pieces of thin bacon, 1 piece of WHITE (no alternatives) toast, 2 eggs, and a small helping of potatoes. On one day the cook failed to show and selection was even more limited: scrambled eggs only and some items were not available at all.

We were lodged the first night in room number 3, which is right beside the restaurant. Until 11:30 pm we heard all the noises of pots, pans, glasses and dishes banging, and people talking, making sleep impossible. Promptly at 6:30 am the next morning the sounds started up again as breakfast was being prepared. We demanded, and received, another room for the remainder of our stay. We found out later those residents of the 2 rooms below the restaurant also experienced the noise so DO NOT ACCEPT rooms 1, 2 or 3, if you want sleep.

Rainbow Bend was probably a nice lodging at one time but has become antiquated, old, and needing a lot of repairs. When I attempted to take a shower in our new room, water shot out sideways, wetting the wall on the far side of the bathroom. I attempted, slightly successful, to tighten the shower head to take a shower, When I later requested maintenance, they had to replace the shower head. The hot tub controls were broken and I was hesitant to use, wondering if the tub’s electric was safe. An electric plug in the room was broken and hanging out of the wall. Light switches were interesting. The switch inside the front door controlled the TV; logically you would think it should control a light. The light switch in the bedroom did not function. We found out on the last day that the owner is trying to sell the property so it appears he is not putting any more money into fixing broken things.

Finally, parking is limited and most is not near your room. At night, when restaurant only customers arrive, parking becomes difficult for those staying at the property.

Room Tip: DO NOT ACCEPT rooms 1, 2 or 3 if you stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Old musty rooms where nothing works. They refused to give refund my money as I knew I could go fo the road to lime tree & get 3 bed townhouse for $9 more! So switched me to another "better" room with cold hot tub microwave & tv that don't work. Plus "free" breakfast is awful & have to wait a long time for weak coffee white toast with egg about 5 pcs heavily salted potato pcs & 2 pcs bacon. Much better places elsewhere I can't believe all good reviews I read because two tries here utterly disgusted.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robineliza1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at the resort during our last 2 vacations in the keys and have loved it! The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is delicious!It's nice to have a gourmet restaurant. A great way to start the day overlooking the ocean. The kids enjoyed going fishing everyday in the free use of the motor boats and swimming in the pool. It is a great place to relax! We have talked about trying out other resorts, but have decided we love it there too much, so we are headed back in June. :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Came down from Palm Beach and stayed at Rainbow Bend January 3-6. Had the most amazing time and wished we could have stayed longer. From the concierge to the restaurant to the dock hands and cleaning crew, the staff was very helpful and could not be nicer. The boats were great for us as we did a lot of fishing and diving. Zero complaints and can't wait to go back to Rainbow Bend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in Marathon a year ago and drove by and saw this place on our way out of town. We decided to stay on our next trip in Dec 2012/Jan 2013 and we were delighted with everything. We loved the boats and used them every day for sightseeing, bird watching, dolphin watching. Even caught our fish for dinner. Thanks to Bobby for the tips and bait and on-site license purchase. The breakfast that was included was a treat and the french toast is the best!!! Thanks to Billy for the extra condiments. The dinner at Hideaway was so good we were upset to have saved it for the last night. We already booked our Dec 2013/Jan 2014 trip and plan to eat in the restaurant every night. The hotel staff was wonderful - George let us check in early. Nikki and Sonya got us everything we forgot to bring. We sat in the grounds every night and enjoyed the breeze, full moon and wonderful water views. The hot tub is an extra bonus. We can't say enough good things about this lovely little piece of heaven. See you in Dec 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Property: Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Address: 57784 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-5626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Bend Fishing Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing