We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainbow no pot of gold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rainbow no pot of gold”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had planned this trip to be our summer dive holiday. Staying at Rainbow from August 23 to 27. Very disappointing considering the cost. $300. a night for two bedroom. Lets start with the room. Blinds broken on most windows, furniture sparce and dirty. Not even a toaster in what was suppose to be a full kitchen. No iron, no hair dryer. Windows don't have locks or screens. So it doesn't matter if you lock your door anyone could get in from the balcony. All this and we were in the "upgraded room". Internet wifi not working most of the time. Tv and most things old old old.
Outside plastic cheap furniture, you can't swim from the beach, 'what beach'? Garbage and junk wash up with sea weed just rotting and stinking all along the water front.
Boats are old whalers and motors very under powered. Not free. You have to pay for gas. Ok thats fair but your kidding me minimum charge is for a quarter tank even if you don't use this much.
Paint does not cover rotting wood it just peels next time its wet especially on walk ways to the rooms. Parking lot was flooding before Hurricaine Issac even came. Same rains caused the windows in the dining room to leak profusely puddles forming on sills, water running down the inside of the windows.
When the warning came for tourists being strongly urged to leave the Keys before Hurricaine Issac arrived we also decided to leave. We had stayed two nights and were suppose to stay two more but when I informed owner George we were leaving he would not refund the money for the two nights not used. He would only return one night and on top of that we still had to pay $14. for the gas use with the boat trip we took we couldn't have used more than a gallon and a half of gas. Being first responders ourselves we take an urgent request for people to leave an area seriously. We presume authorities have more information and resources than us available to them so there must be a good reason they are urging people to leave.
For $300. a night go to Disney it was cheaper cleaner and newer. We did. Don't stay at the Rainbow Bend. The owner loves your money but he does nothing to improve or upgrade his facility. Over priced and past its prime. All the other places we booked returned our money because of the Hurricaine.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hawksbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    223
    50
    40
    95
See reviews for
232
364
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

wanted to get married with our bare feet in the sand and found Rainbow Bend resorts central location in the keys perfect for our needs. We got married at Sunset Park in Key Colony Beach. Rainbow Bend Resort was clean and friendly. The staff was very helpful in finding everything that we needed to enjoy our stay. The complimentary breakfast and free use of skiffs were a bonus. Our stay was wonderful and relaxing,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at Rainbow Bend early this year. We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. As others have said, free breakfast, evening meals served, and the complementary Boston Whaler I took out ran well. I would recommend this place to all who wish for a laid back, quiet, simple place to vacation.

Steve Franklin

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfrank43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to Rainbow Bend resort 3 weeks ago and had a wonderful time, got the efficency by the pool, very spacious with a full kitchen, oceanfront, with hot complimentary breakfast, restaurant on premises. Loved the place and use of the motor boats. It was our first experience with motor boats and we absolutely loved it. There is a beautiful sandbar closed by, crystal waters with white sand. I can't wait to go back again. The staff was very friendly and we also love the little shop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

During Hurricane Isaac my husband decided he wanted to beachcomb in the Florida Keyes. The Rainbow Bend had to actually open hurricane shutters on our room.....the wind hadn't even subsided.
The resort was spared from Isaac and will be in terrific shape for a Holiday weekend.

The adjacent beach property that had not been cleaned up by a separate owner for several months/years has been left very clean (compliments of a hurricane.). What little bit of trash that was left I personally went and cleaned up. Enjoy this terrific getaway in the beautiful Florida Keyes.

This has been our 4th stay and I'd recommend this resort to anyone looking for a true natural Florida Keyes vacation. The staff is aware and kind.....and you won't be disappointed.

If you are looking for a city vacation at a resort with a Tiki Bar you might pass. If you are looking for kindness, a small boat to explore the nearby sandbar, kayaks and paddleboats for the youth I'd definitely recommend you visit and meet George, Marsha, Ashley and Tony!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently vacationed at the Rainbow Bend for the third time. We were greeted by name upon arrival and throughout our stay. We see many of the same faces each visit and have always been treated with respect and kindness.

The resort is an old Keyes fishing camp. There are several buildings on the property with guestrooms ......coming together as an awesome small resort (25 rooms??) where I watched the iguana's feed in the morning. On our recent visit the buildings looked freshly painted, the landscaping looked groomed, and the battle with the coconuts was on! Each room we have stayed in has been pleasantly furnished and has a kitchen.....although you might want to bring your basic kitchen silverware and dishware.

If you are looking for a resort with a tiki bar and social scene you should pass.......if you are looking for a family resort where your children can be found, where there is a family bbq area, kid friendly equipment and a responsive staff you should stay at the Rainbow Bend Resort.

The use of the boats for 4 hours a day is of course very nice. They ran well too. Oh yeah....they tolerated all our equipment and stuff just fine too.

Room Tip: Love the privacy of the Octagon....but there is a room near the bbq and beach that is lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Tucked away from it all but at low tide--very stinky. Each side of the motel on the beach is loaded with garbage that's floated in throughout the year--probably would only take a few hours with a few people to clean it up--a real eye sore:( Coconuts ripe and falling from the trees--should have been taken down a long time ago (like in June)--instead--caution tape is wrapped around each tree. Boats are old and run down and break down--know how to fix a boat or you'll be floating in the ocean--have a cell phone to call for help and hope they answer. No one in the office after 9 pm so one night the toilet started leaking at the base profusely--grabbed the phone to make a call and nothing but crackles--called the office on our cell--got an emergency number--called it--no answer. We overheard another couple that were there that had no AC all night--and again--no one to call--now that would suck as its really hot down there. At least our AC window units worked--but--are probably on their last legs--the main for sure--it's almost rusted off the wall on the outside--haha. Gas for boats is $14 plus tax for 1/4 tank which is 1.5 gallons--that's highway robbery so really--the boats are not free. Needs a good deep cleaning and many repairs--most of our blinds were broken at some point. Locks on doors old and rickety. Plastic chairs are old and many dry-rotted--be careful when you sit in them:) 2 boat hands Jack and either Mark or Mike very nice and helpful:) The old guy Tom a bit crabby--I think he's mad at the world. The breakfast that was free was very good--apparently the restaurant for dinner is very good--filled every night. The waitresses in the restaurant were very nice too:) Pool only treated with salt I think and hazy--jacuzzi jets way to powerful for the average person--no light on in pool at all--probably burnt out. The kitchen was clean except for the oven--found out after it was heated up and we opened the door to put our stuff in and smoke poured out of it--we had to scrape off big chunks of burnt food to stop the smoke and before we put our food in. Bathroom was clean except for the green slime on the toilet paper roll that easily wiped off with a baby wipe. Check your smoke detectors--I bet none of them have batteries in them. They do charge $17.50 per extra person per night after 2 people so that is an added expense to keep in mind. They also charge a 15% gratuity charge right on your bill--have to wonder though--do the folks that deserve them get them?--I forgot to ask until we were well on our way home. There is also a 15% tax and resort fee added to your costs so be well aware of that too. Do not expect to swim at the hotel beach at all but there is a sandbar accessible by boat and Sombrero Beach is right up US 1-- about 8 miles South--turn left right after Kmart with a mural and follow that road--nice for tanning, swimming in some spots, and snorkeling on the left side of the beach by the rocks--good areas to picnic and grill too. Maybe I shouldn't rate it poor but for the price we paid for 4 nights--6 people--should have been the "Taj Mahal" and it was far from that. I've never been to a resort that had visitors there but no one around at all--they all must have just left during the day to get away from the no seeum's and smell:(

Room Tip: Higher floors probably less noisier and have a better view--probably less "no see-ums" bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhahnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Property: Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Address: 57784 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-5626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Bend Fishing Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing