We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fishing and Relaxing Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fishing and Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just got back from our third annual visit. We loved it. "Old style" resort. Nice pool. Room to relax along a groomed waterfront area. Clean rooms. Ours (11A) had an awesome ocean view (less than 30yds from the water's edge) from a deck partially shaded by several mature palms. The staff was always polite and helpful. The dock hands kept the boats rigged and ready for action. Very efficient, knowledgable and friendly. Close to Marathon and Islamorada. We'll be back!

Chuck Bartels

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    215
    47
    38
    91
See reviews for
222
339
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sewell, nj
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

had an awesome retreat from the hustle and bustle of daily life, our family of 5 stayed in unit d, over looking the the ocean. The room was great, had everything we needed, and the grill and coverd patio was right outside our door and served well to cook up our fresh catch of the day. Loved the use of the boats, the motor boats were pefect for snorkeling out at the coufins patch and fishing, and we did lots of both. I took a kayak out in the morning of our last day and saw dolfin playing in the water just off the shoreline. My 6 yr old couldn't get enough of the pool were he made lots of friends, as it is such a family friendly resort. Breakfast every morning at the Hide Away Cafe was good and our servers were so friendly. If your looking for a break from the norm and a relaxing getaway, with or without kids this could be your place, we loved it and will return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frances c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detrot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Don't stay in the "Jacuzzi room". We did and had to move. We were not told it didn't have a separate bathroom - meaning it's one room with the bathroom separated by trellis and it smells like a sauna. The large jacuzzi tub was rusty and had no shower curtain. Taking a shower was like going to a spray part...Once we moved into the "main house room" it was much better and surprisingly only $40 more.

I gave it a 4 because once we were out of the jacuzzi room the place is nice. It's a typical Keys place. Right on the water - no beach but close to a sand bar that you can take a boat to quickly. Pretty rustic but decent for the price.

Room Tip: DON'T get the jacuzzi room. You'll regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerdogerthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

My son and I just got back from here and had a great time! It is an authentic Florida laid back atmosphere. The entire staff was wonderful, super accomodating and the resort was very family friendly. We enjoyed using the paddle boats, the view and location are amazing and central to getting to Key Largo and Key West. Everything was super clean and comfortable. If you are looking for brand new, chain hotel style - this isn't for you, but if you want true Florida Keys atmosphere, go here!!!!
We would definitely stay here again and hope to in the future!!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 19, the Hideaway, not the best location in the resort, but full kitchen, jacuzzi tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmolloy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GULLIVER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have been coming to Florida for years and this resort is "Bar None" the best place a family or couple could choose for a vacation. The ocean front pool, and hot tub right next to the five star restaurant which also over looks the ocean. My wife is from California and is not a fisherman and she loved the quaint, rustic, laid back style of this premier resort. Hence we began calling the place Hotel California because it is really hard to leave. The fishing boats and dock hands were the best, especially Tommy, a Viet Nam, Marine Corps veteran who put us on Yellow Tail Snappers until our arms got tired. Caught many Grouper but had to let them go as they are not in season. We caught them and brought them back to our room and baked them in our oven! From the Sea to our plate in the same day, what else can you ask for. The resort even has a grill on the beach patrons can use. (over by the Kayaks that are also free)After eating fresh snapper we relaxed in our own personal Juccuzzi on our patio which was well maintained and actually had a guy come everyday to vaccum out the sand. My daughter loved snorkeling and diving for lobster as the resort rents masks, fins, snorkels at a nominal rate. They even have dive flags. She also fed the giant Iguana (over 3 feet long) that made his home on our patio security fence. They love lettuce! From Tony the dock/boat manager to Ashley, our waitress everyone here goes out of their way to help you and make your vacation hassle free. I can not say enough good things about Rainbow Bend resort! This was the best vacation we have ever had! I feel bad for the staff as the people writing the bad reviews would not know a good time if it hit them over their head.....From the cook to order free breakfeast to the best selection of wine I have ever seen the Rainbow Bend resort rocks!!! THANKS SO MUCH, WE HAD A GREAT TIME, and we will see you all next year!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowtailsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My family loved our recent stay at the Rainbow Bend Resort. With only 24 rooms we enjoyed meeting other guests; the staff was attentive and tolerated my 3 teenage children and a ton of fishing and water sport equipment. The rooms are certainly old Florida, but they are clean and well stocked with kitchen supplies. Having access to 4 hours of a boat daily for runs to the sandbar and for shore exploring was a great amenity. If you are looking for a large resort experience you should look elsewhere. If you are looking for a resort that is truly family friendly with a clean facility you should consider Rainbow Bend.

Room Tip: Loved 14D - it's on the Atlantic and is near the bbq grill and docks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have to say this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in Florida. I am a engineer for one the auto companys, travel alot have been going to the keys for years mostly sugarloaf
and south. Yes the boat's are a bonus except the fact that they are way under powered (25 HP) and you only get 4 hours per day it takes 45 minuts to Hour to get out to marker 45 or to do any kinda real fishing to which we did but at the end of the day I was into the resort for about 100 bucks for the "include boat". The staff there are awsome very friendy and helpfull to bad there employed by..........well I wish I had the words. Not my chose of a place to stay in the keys ! Oh and breakfast, have you ever seen a 3 ounce juice glass ? You would if you get the Included breakfast.

Room Tip: Find a better place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
21.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Property: Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Address: 57784 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-5626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Bend Fishing Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing