We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, fun, educational and well done” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Turtle Hospital

The Turtle Hospital
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique, fun, educational and well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We brought our daughter and son-in-law -- veterinary ophthalmologist and veterinary surgeon -- as we had visited in a previous year. They loved it as did we. I always appreciate people with passion for what they do and that is clearly evident here. The guide made sure we understood the important educational information, including a tour of the surgical suite, and then on to the turtles. How smart to name them and provide a short history. And the kids present loved the feed option. Our sophisticated children gave a big thumbs up to the emphasis on a good surgical facility. Everyone should visit this unique place. And don't miss Zippy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank UpnorthMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,359
    561
    101
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very interesting and worthwhile presentation. This place is run by people who truly care and are very passionate about what they are doing. Tour starts with a short presentation and slides. Then a short visit inside the hospital itself, followed by a visit to the outdoor tanks. Everyone has the opportunity to feed the turtles. Great for all ages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You have to see this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Your entrance fee is a donation, that's awesome! They are doing great things for the turtles here. It's educational & fun! Staff is very enthusiastic. Great for all ages. My 12, 8, & 6 year olds all stayed interested. Make a reservation or you may be turned down.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank misty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Info, Not for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We checked this place out because our hotel told us about it, but I will say it is not really a place for children. It is more of an informative attraction, which my husband and I found interesting but for 2 young children it was not. They did like the part were they saw and fed the turtles, but that was it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Giving the turtles a helping hand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I'm always really skeptical about places that advertise themselves as a wildlife rescue centre, or sanctuary or hospital. You never know what you are going to get and many times the conditions are appalling and it ends up being something completely different then what you think it is or should be. This wasn't the case with the Turtle Hospital. When we first showed up we were surprised at just how popular this place is and so we made a reservation for one of their educational tours for the next day.

The educational tour last around 90 minutes and the crowd wasn't too large. Once you are banded off you go to the hospital building next door for an informative talk and powerpoint (fortunately not death by powerpoint) on sea turtles with an emphasis on those 5 species which can be found off the Florida coast. Great information presented here on the life cycle of the turtles, threats to the turtles and the mission of the hospital. The talk then moves into the ER and you get a glimpse of the facilities before moving to the turtle tanks. This part of the tour which is what everyone probably looks forward to the most, is a chance to see some of the permanent residents of the hospital (many who are afflicted by a condition known as bubble butt which prevents them from diving) and some of the current turtles being treated there. The tanks are located in an old motel and the swimming pool is now a salt water turtle tank connected to the ocean. The guide did a great job here as we went from tank to tank and got a history of the turtle, treatment process and prognosis.

Keep in mind this is a working rehabilitation facility. It is not a glossy or slick corporate creation advertising swim with the turtles. You don't get to swim with the turtles or touch the turtles, which you shouldn't be able to do anyway (turtles bite) but you do get an opportunity to throw some “turtle chow” into the big tank.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sandman-rogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing