We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative for everyone”

The Turtle Hospital
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Turtle Hospital and Lower Florida Keys Day Trip from Key West
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Informative for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Any activity that keeps the adults and kids entertained/educated is worth the detour. This place does it. Congratulations to the team at the turtle hospital!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gennieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,440
    573
    105
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We really enjoyed this. It is educational and interesting for both children and adults. Really young children might not be able to sit through some of it but there was a little play area off to the side to occupy them. I would reccomend this to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJVO_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Va
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Must See While In The Keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We cannot say enough good things about this facility/ For our $15 admission fee, we were treated to a wonderful tour of the facility and were enlightened about sea turtles. Our tour guide was an employee and a lover of the turtles. She gave us a tour of the place and explained along the way about the turtles in general and also gave us information concerning each of the turtles that are either living there permanently or being rehabilitated there. It is a wonderful facility that does important work in saving large numbers of turtles who otherwise would have been lost. Be sure to make a reservation for the tours prior to the day you visit. Even though it was a hot day, we were inside or in the shade for the tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lakeview5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly enriching experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stopped by at the Turtle Hospital on the way back to Miami from Key West. And I'm glad we did! They have a 90 minute tour of the hospital where you get to see the patients and some permanent residents - you also get to feed some of them. Some of the sea turtles were huge! The conservation effort that's being made to help the sea turtles is truly commendable. I would recommend anyone interested in turtles or the environment in general to make a stop here. It'll be worth your time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anurag N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You MUST visit the Turtle Hospital!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

On a trip to the Florida Keys this past summer, I visited the Turtle Hospital with my 13 year old son. The work the volunteers do at this wonderful facility is nothing short of spectacular!! The guided tour gives you an up-close look at the care received by the injured and sick turtles that make there way to this hospital for world class treatment. It's a great educational experience for students of all ages. The more people learn about the dangers sea turtles are exposed to, maybe we can lower the mortality rate for these special critters. This really is a "must see"!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monet3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing