We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop, educational and very interesting”

The Turtle Hospital
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Turtle Hospital and Lower Florida Keys Day Trip from Key West
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great stop, educational and very interesting”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I decided to stop here on an overcast day on a Tuesday in mid-August. The website recommends reservations and based on the size of the tour I would think if you are going on a weekend you would probably want to do this (or if you don't have a flexible schedule). I got right in on the next tour and it was about 25 people in it. The price was $15 and it was really a great deal for the behind the scenes things you get to see. Our guide was informative and very nice to all of us. We got to see a slide show of various turtles first and then the actual hospital area where they operate on the turtles. We then got to go out back to where all the turtles are kept and find out about each one. For an hour and a 1/2 it really was worth the money and all the fees they collect go to the hospital operation and rescue of the turtles. I would definitely recommend this to someone on daytrip to the keys or especially families looking for fun and educational things to do with their kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sdm23669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,483
    576
    105
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the real deal. These guys are environmental heros, working to protect, save and rehab injured ocean turtles. The tour begins with an educational slideshow which, for me was completely new and eye opening. I learned a lot in the first 10 minutes of the tour. From there the guide takes you to see the radiology and surgical suite and then demonstrates surgical video and xrays from recent cases. After that you get to see the residents and current patients. If you go, you will learn that not all turtles can go back to the ocean. The turtle hospital is their retirement home. Also, turtles are endangered and cannot be handled without permission. They have a turtle ambulance that must come and get the turtles if injured turtles are found.
On the tour you get to see the injured turtles, the baby turtles and the resident turtles. There is an opportunity to feed the turtles. Occassionally, they announce a public turtle release. Local kids also get to tour the facility and friend the turtles. The hospital works on donations so the visit helps pay for the turtles care.

All the kids on the tour seem to love it. My group included my wife and another couple. We were in the Keys for 7 days and this was a great break from the beach. It was totally new and different. Reservations are necessary. The staff all welcome visitors and questions. Great time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Max878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I thought ok, Lets do a kid attraction away from the boating, fishing, jet ski-ing. etc...Well, this was a GREAT choice...one of the most memorable 90 minutes of our 8 day trip. Very informative tour guide...there were 36 turtles in all some residents some just there for rehab. These people really care about Sea Turtles...and it gave us all a renewed respect for wild life...Thanks Turtle Hospital - they are doing a great job.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alwaysgreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
195 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good informative guided tour with lots of photos!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

$15 is a small price to pay for this informative tour. You start with a slideshow with a commentary and questions and answers. Then a short tour of the operating theatre with more questions and answers then off to see some 38 turtles in good tanks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BatWillow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Educational and entertaining”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great visit and a chance to learn about the various ways turtles are endangered. The staff are knowledgeable and very passionate about what they do. We all enjoyed the visit very much and although there isn't that "wow" factor associated with, for example, swimming with dolphins, it is still a very worthwhile activity. I would definitely go back if I ever return to Marathon and would love to see one of their turtles being released back into the wild.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ally CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing