We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative”

The Turtle Hospital
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

An informative presentation on different species of turtles and how they get injured before we got to see the turtles in recuperation. Not suitable for younger children as they would possibly get bored in the 45 minute presentation but excellent for older children and adults. Great value and you know your entrance fee goes to a good cause. A must have if you're passing through Marathon but may be wise to book a tour (on the hour from 9 to 4) as limited numbers on each tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathrynJM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,635
    602
    111
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wooster ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

the work done at this place brings tears to my eyes. Sea turtles are amazing beautiful creatures. We visited during a crazy tropical storm. They gave us all ponchos to wear but the wind was whipping, the rain actually hurt and it was flooding. Despite these conditions our host continued to show us the turtles and tell us about each one. Her love for the turtles and job was heartwarming. We will never forget this visit. If I win the lottery you will hear from me again...well even if I don't win you may hear from me again but it would be nice to give you piles of money to help the cause.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank crystaljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

An excellent and humbling experience. We were really pleased to pay the admission fee $15, worth every cent knowing it was going to a non profit operation that was dedicated to helping turtles. Our tour guide was a very knowledgeable young lady who we're sure had given the talk hundreds of times before but made it sound like the first time. She was obviously dedicated to her task and was proud to show us the 37 turtles that were currently there and knew each by name and history. We've now adopted a turtle and will keep in touch with all the work this excellent group of people are doing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank beasles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is a good cause and very was educational”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We enjoyed the tour of the Turtle Hospital. Good to know that the turtles have an advocate because they are on the endangered list.
The gal that gave the tour was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The fee goes to keep the hospital operating. Overall we really enjoyed it and learned a lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank glamgal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindimichelle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Educational & Fun”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have wanted to go here for over a decade and am excited to say it was better and more educational than I ever thought. We had young kids and the crew was very patient. The older kids >5 were really interested and able to interact with the questions and the information about the turtles. This facility receives turtles from Sea World. That to me seems powerful in their ability to care and manage the wellness of the turtles. We have an even larger appreciation for turtles, marine biology and environmental conditions that impact their wellness.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindimichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing