We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time AND money”

The Turtle Hospital
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Turtle Hospital and Lower Florida Keys Day Trip from Key West
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the time AND money”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We ere in the keys for a weekend camping trip for my son's birthday. He wanted to go see the turtle hospital. I was thinking, great a 2 hour talk, and a 10 and 7 year old bored to tears. The tour guide Gunnar was AWESOME. So informative interesting and patient with a 10 year olds questions. Would recommend to all with a love of wildlife, or a soft spot for turtles.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank turtletam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,534
    587
    108
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite attraction in the Keys!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was hands down the best attraction we visited while in the Keys. Our daughters, ages 10 and 7, were captivated and loved learning about the sea turtles. Well worth the price of admission, the staff is very knowledgeable and you know you money is truely going to a great cause. They teach about conservation, recycling, making good choices when you order seafood at a restaurant, great props and pictures when touring the ER.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cjfMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to learn and see these beautiful creatures being cared for”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Really worth booking ahead of time. 90 min tour went so fast. Educational. Easy to listen to. The guides really know what they are talking about. A tour behind the scenes and then a visit to see the Turtles. There was plenty of time given to take photographs to ask questions.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank T1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You'll see plenty of sea turtles and I learned a lot!”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I loved the tour! It was educational and I learned about the different types of sea turtles in the area and seen by the hospital as well as what often brings the turtles in for rehabilitation.
The tour ends out in the turtle tank area. I have yet to see a sea turtle during a scuba trip, but this was great!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank rmcitykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

So glad we made the time and effort to go here. Good educational presentation for adults and kids alike. Once you see the damage humans have done and are still doing.....makes one pause and reflect on what you can do differently to prevent such needless pain to such amazing creatures. The dedication of the original founders and the volunteers restores hope in the human race!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing