We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Service!”

Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Ranked #17 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Seafood, Steaks, Sushi, Prime Rib Lunch and Dinner Daily. Full Liquor Bar and 33 BEERS ON TAP Indoor and Outdoor Waterfront Dining In Business since 1951. Voted Best Overall Restaurant in Marathon 2 years in a rowLive Music, Late night Entertainment on FridaysClub Mirabella Nightclub Dancing FRIDAY starting at 10:30pm
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Tuesday, February18, 2014 1:00 pm
After hearing good reviews we intentionally drove there for lunch today.
Sat down, waited 15 minutes, no service, watched 2 tables walk out, and when the third table stood up I asked how long they had been waiting, and they said 30 minutes!
We left at that point.
The hostess apologized for the lack of service, yet continued to seat people!
Everyone on the patio was eating, everyone inside the restaurant went without!
Too many other places to choose from to put up with this stuff.
Trust me, we "will not" return.
Drove to the Keys Fishery restaurant and enjoyed an excellent meal overlooking the marina and Gulf.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    399
    147
    70
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the location of this place scare you away. It's tucked behinds the docks at Pancho's Fuel Stop off of 15th St and is basically a fish shanty...but with excellent food!

I tried the lionfish - pricey, but super tasty. Nice little outside patio on the dock and an amazing beer menu. Believe it or not, they also have a REAL espresso machine!

Helpful?
Thank Conquistadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The food was great if you can find the restaurant. It is definitely off the beaten path. There is a small sign on the overseas highway but at night, you might miss it-we did at first. We stopped and asked a local and were glad we did. I got the seafood platter with oysters, clams, fish, scallops, shrimp and deviled crab (which was so-so). The honeybuns before the meal are really good. Looks like a local hideaway.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mawmaw2three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

When you turn down the road (which can be easily missed), you might think you made a wrong turn...nope! Tucked back in a corner, this is a secret little spot that we were happy we found. It was easy to make a quick reservation on line, however it did not give an indoor/outdoor option on line. Our party of 6 was seated inside in a (dated fabric-lined) booth with a small table pushed up against it. Not a great set-up, but it worked. I wish I would have known that there were outdoor seating options...that would have been MUCH better. Food was great, drinks were great, prices were great, service was WONDERFUL! Our server (Vicki) was seriously the best on the Keys...yup, she was that good! I gave this 4 stars because of the dated booths/interior and the harsh Perkins-style lighting...but everything else was a 5 :) Oh, and the honey "buns" (aka: doughnuts) were amazing! We will definitely come back to this spot!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PixieDust456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good 5 hour cruise as as Castaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Good food, good atmosphere, good waitstaff. A cool find off the beaten track, tucked away in a cozy spot. Have a good time with one of the best in Marathon!

Helpful?
Thank Keoni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing