We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good dinner with great sunset view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar

Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Ranked #14 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Seafood, Steaks, Sushi, Prime Rib Lunch and Dinner Daily. Full Liquor Bar and 33 BEERS ON TAP Indoor and Outdoor Waterfront Dining In Business since 1951. Voted Best Overall Restaurant in Marathon 2 years in a rowLive Music, Late night Entertainment on FridaysClub Mirabella Nightclub Dancing FRIDAY starting at 10:30pm
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good dinner with great sunset view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice restaurant on Marathon Key, very convenient to our condo on Coco Plum Beach. Excellent grouper and hogfish (snapper) enjoyed by both of us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gatorbendermail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    395
    145
    68
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food in Marathon, FL.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you can get here by boat, that is a good choice. The food is always fresh. Sushi is out of this world. They serve local lionfish and uni. Staff is attentive and friendly. Outside bar and tables make this place feel like you are on vacation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! Why did we wait to eat here?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything we ate here was wonderful. I wish I could tell you the name of every dish. We had a big assortment of sushi including nigiri and a few rolls. Also had a couple lobster dishes along with stuffed hogfish and seafood pasta. The only regret I have is not eating here when we first got in town. Had we eaten here earlier, we would have probably made a couple return trips. Service was great and everything was clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StealYourFace_GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Catch of the Day!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were a party of eight , who got reservations
Without problem. The service was great and food was wonderful, even to the point of having your own fish cooked to order six to eight different ways!

Vicki was our waitress ans
D she was super!

We WILL be back at some point!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas, United States
1 review
“The place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the place to eat in Marathon Florida.We ate there 6 days in a row and would go back more times if we had stayed in the Key's longer !!!!! The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. The owners John and Arlene are very warm and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing