We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Marathon, FL.”

Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Ranked #18 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Seafood, Steaks, Sushi, Prime Rib Lunch and Dinner Daily. Full Liquor Bar and 33 BEERS ON TAP Indoor and Outdoor Waterfront Dining In Business since 1951. Voted Best Overall Restaurant in Marathon 2 years in a rowLive Music, Late night Entertainment on FridaysClub Mirabella Nightclub Dancing FRIDAY starting at 10:30pm
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food in Marathon, FL.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you can get here by boat, that is a good choice. The food is always fresh. Sushi is out of this world. They serve local lionfish and uni. Staff is attentive and friendly. Outside bar and tables make this place feel like you are on vacation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    410
    154
    73
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! Why did we wait to eat here?”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything we ate here was wonderful. I wish I could tell you the name of every dish. We had a big assortment of sushi including nigiri and a few rolls. Also had a couple lobster dishes along with stuffed hogfish and seafood pasta. The only regret I have is not eating here when we first got in town. Had we eaten here earlier, we would have probably made a couple return trips. Service was great and everything was clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StealYourFace_GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Catch of the Day!!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were a party of eight , who got reservations
Without problem. The service was great and food was wonderful, even to the point of having your own fish cooked to order six to eight different ways!

Vicki was our waitress ans
D she was super!

We WILL be back at some point!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas, United States
1 review
“The place to Eat”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the place to eat in Marathon Florida.We ate there 6 days in a row and would go back more times if we had stayed in the Key's longer !!!!! The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. The owners John and Arlene are very warm and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't travel further down the "Island"”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Food was great, service was great, it was my girlfriend and I's first time in the Keys. This was by far the best place we ate at, which is why we went twice. Servers were friendly and offered up great meal suggestions for us. Food was excellent and the price we paid was on point for food of this quality. You can keep heading down Hwy 1 to other places for subpar over priced food you can cook at home, with bad service but, you'll be disappointed. This is some place we will gladly eat at again on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealJerrbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing