We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Sushi”

Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Seafood, Steaks, Sushi, Prime Rib Lunch and Dinner Daily. Full Liquor Bar and 33 BEERS ON TAP Indoor and Outdoor Waterfront Dining In Business since 1951. Voted Best Overall Restaurant in Marathon 2 years in a rowLive Music, Late night Entertainment on FridaysClub Mirabella Nightclub Dancing FRIDAY starting at 10:30pm
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner with the family. I tried two different sushi rolls which were pretty good. Not the best I had but fresh and tasty. Conch fritters were good and I was told the sea scallop entree was delicious. I would recommend this place for a family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    407
    152
    71
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberry, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Delight you don't want to miss!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant is a little hard to find but its worth it. We had the pleasure of once again dining at Castaway's. Our waitress (Maria) was such a joy, always a smile and very attentive .We started with an appetizer of Lumpia which was delicious and cocktails. My martini was made perfect! My entree was Sashimi Special dinner which included Miso soup and ginger salad. The sashimi tasted very fresh and was presented beautiful. My husband had grilled Black tip Shark with potatoes and vegetables. Wow!!! The shark was super delicious! Of course the Honey buns (which is a little piece of heaven) were delicious. We got some that were just out of the kitchen!!!We always enjoy our visits here!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best choice for Sushi;Now called ORIGIN”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Atmosphere: Originally a sports bar and after a few owners, it’s a busy spot, even at 7:00PM when we got there. Located on Waterfront Drive has its pros and cons. It’s easy to get there and find a parking spot in the evenings. But if you seat in the front area the traffic noise is very bad. That’s where we were seated and the seating arrangement is rather awkward for eating. We went there for Sushi. There a wood benches against the walls, covered with rather thin cushions that are smaller than the wood. The tables are rather low, more suitable to eat seating on the floor, as many Asians do. Your food is on a lower level than you are seating down. It’s manageable, but not relaxing. The street noise and the acoustics can get to you.
Food: The Sushi was well prepared; rice cooked perfectly, seaweed tasted good, not like cardboard. The presentation was good and we were really impressed with how fast we were served (a rarity in the BVI’s)! The pieces are rather on the small side. We recommend the seafood tempura for starter, the rainbow eel, and the shrimp tempura roll. The spicy tuna is only spicy because they add red pepper flakes on the outside, which is not an Oriental or Japanese spice. A spicy sauce to mix the tuna pieces in and then make the rolls will be more appropriate. A big turn off is that they do not serve hot sake. Apparently there is no microwave to heat it up. So we had our sushi with whiskey sours. We’ll go back, but make sure we don’t seat in the front. Prices are reasonable and pair with what you get.
Service: The waitress was very attentive, focused and fast. She was a bit lost with the hot sake request until we told her just to pop it in the microwave. That’s when we were told; “We don’t have a microwave”. She kept calling everyone “Darling”, which is very common in the BVI’s. Terms of endearment are usually used when trying to give good service, losing professionalism and manners. This waitress would be the only reason we’ll seat in that section again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HTPWT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
2 reviews
“Anything. Everything. And It's ALL Good!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are very few places anywhere that offer the variety and quality of Castaway... and it will take more than one visit to truly appreciate everything they offer. Let me start with one word: honeybuns. Mmmm. Drinks before dinner? Sure... but it's a tough decision. 33 beers from around the world on tap... a full liquor bar (with tasty classic martinis)... and a wine list with a good variety to accompany your dinner choice. But there's where the real decisions start. Appetizers include traditional Keys favorites and a great raw bar that includes my favorite raw oyster style EVER -- Oysters Tokyo (sour cream, masago roe, and spicy kimchee sauce). Seafood? Yes, it's fresh (the owner goes out and catches a lot of it himself). From fresh local fish (prepared in many tasty ways) to lobster and stone crab (in season) to even live Maine lobster, you have choices (but try the Stuffed Hogfish). Steaks? All good. My favorites are the Howell's Cut (the best damn filet I've ever had) and the tender and juicy Prime Rib. Sushi!!! Yep -- a great selection of authentic sushi (with the perfect sake to accompany) often makes me forget about the filet. There's a good variety of other things like Baby Back Ribs, chicken and pasta dishes, combo platters, even Sauteed Alligator Tail. While it's the oldest restaurant in Marathon, dating back to the 1950s, it was recently renovated and basically rebuilt from the ground up. A little hard to find at the end of 15th Street, but totally worth more than a few visits. There's even an outside tiki bar that features live acoustic music several nights a week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbados61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always a great place to go”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I come to Marathon every year to Tarpon fish and this restaurant is always a must stop for me. Great fresh seafood and try the sushi if you want something different. Very nice rustic atmosphere and friendly service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Awb7bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Castaway Waterfront Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing