We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place grows on you!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This place grows on you!”
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My husband and I booked a room at this hotel for 2 nights (before a cruise out of Miami) We selected this hotel based on the reviews we had read and I'm glad we did. It was all about the pool, the kayaks, and the dolphin research center next door. Our goal was to experience the Keys and I felt like we did that. We thought our room was quiet, however, we didn't have a sunny room. It was dark because of it's position being on the bottom floor with a deck up above. We were out of the room most of the day anyway, so that was no big deal.
As someone said below, the room is very modest in amenities. I was disappointed at first. The room had all the "kitchen" things although a little bit scattered (the microwave is over by the bathroom) but this place just seemed to grow on us. I would recommend that the owner add a few simple things (like salt and pepper, sugar, coffee packets). We arrived in the afternoon after a long slow drive, and didn't realize that there were no stores nearby. The nearest store is 8 miles away, which is actually not bad, but the traffic was heavy and we were getting tired.
In the morning, coffee was set under a tree outside, which I thought was very unique and handy. Again, this was modest but worked. I actually liked it. The only problem was that when I went out one morning to get a cup, the pot was empty. Oh well, you snooze, you lose!
The pool was just awesome. Your body adjusts to the cooler temperature almost immediately, once you get wet. They had little float toys and I enjoyed myself immensely while my husband enjoyed the sun. We were there during a very warm time, 85 degrees. It was awesome.
We heard whistles blows coming from somewhere in the background, and when we were out in the canoe, we discovered the whistling was from the dolphin trainers who were doing shows for visitors. (the owner told us about the research center next door and recommended we take a boat around the bend to watch, thank you!) We had a pretty good view from our little canoe. The ocean water was fairly calm because of the beautiful bay this property is situated on. Also, like most of the Keys, the water is very shallow and clear, so you can see all the rocks below and any sea life that you might come upon. We saw some sort of ray from the shoreline.
The canoes are extremely convenient and easy to access. The boat ramp is just a few feet from the pool and it was so fun to just go out and push one a few feet into the water and voila.. we were boating.
Parking was absolutely easy and handy.
The bathroom was adequate and small and it was clean. The bed was very firm. I appreciated that the floor was tile, not carpet.
I wouldn't hesitate to return to this resort. Calling it a resort seems a little overstated, however.

  • Liked — The bay location and the canoes
  • Disliked — Kitchen could have been stocked a little better.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    122
    37
    16
    4
See reviews for
189
190
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

We stayed at the Gulfview from 4/6 - 4/8. The rooms were very clean, and the landscaping is beautiful. The folliage is quite diverse with lots of coconut palms, banana trees, & pineapple plants. Mike gave us a terrific tour. We also tried out the kayaks and spent plenty of time at the pool. We enjoyed the coffee & tea available outside under the tiki hut in the mornings. The owners were very friendly. We'd love to come back and stay longer.

  • Liked — The beautiful Grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4NETravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We spent 2 days mid week at the resort - had a great time. This is a small family run resort, right on Florida Bay (North Coast) on the eastern end of Marathon (less crowded). The property is well maintained, clean, has a nice big, deep pool, lots of palms with places to sit and relax, a small open lawn and beach for sunning, free kayaks and canoes, and a dedicated clientelle that comes back year after year.

The rooms are simple but well appointed and clean - the weather was great so we did not spend much time there. The kitchen is complete and well stocked with all the essentials for cooking. There are multiple gas grilles on the property for use, plus lots of outdoor seating.

The water out front is typical bay - shallow water great for snorkeling and paddling around, with lots of marine life to see.

This is the place if you are looking for a cozy place to relax for a while and decompress. Not too many rooms so there is not a lot of people around, and the owners are very helpful but out of the way. Just a great place!

  • Liked — Family run - relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bblueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The Gulf view is a nice resort, in a good location, and Susan was really good when our flight was delayed and we arrived very late.
We were in a room at the front of the property facing the road, and we did find the road noise intrusive. I would recommend asking for a room facing the sea, but apparently these are mainly let out to long term guests.
Our room was OK, but in need of decorating and new furnishings - it was a little tatty. We saw the room next door which was far nicer. However, it was clean.
The views from the dock were wonderful, and it was good to have use of the bbq and picnic area. The pool was a little chilly but I have swum in colder water, so it wasn't a problem.
My recommendation on visiting the Keys would be to check that the place you stay is well away from the road, as it is pretty busy and noisy but quiter late at night. To be honest, if we hadn't booked in advance and had been shown the room and heard the road noise, we probably would have moved on. Maybe we were just unlucky with the room, as the rest of the resort was nice.

  • Liked — The views from the dock
  • Disliked — The road noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

I booked this hotel directly after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. All I can say is that all of the good reviews must have been written by people who stayed in the newer renovated rooms. Ours was upstairs in between two others. The noise level was also an irritation. Let's just say it hadn't seen a paintbrush or anything new in a long time. Not to mention that there was dirt piled in the corner of the bathroom, dirt covering the ceiling fan and blinds. We were very disappointed, and did end up leaving a day early. The owners are nice people, that is true, but they really need to do some work. Honestly I am somewhat leery of using Trip Advisor again.

  • Liked — Nice people running it fairly nice and clean pool
  • Disliked — Pool was too cold to swim in, room in need of update and thorough cleaning, too high price for what it is
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JKNANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We are locals living in North Beach, Miami, better known as Sunny Isles Beach, or what we call southern Manhattan - because of Donald Trump and all the Sky Scraper Condos he and many others are building - all on top of each other. About once every quarter my wife, dogs and I get tired of the "big city" feel (even though it is still living in Paradise!) and want to get away to a neat, quiet, reserved and CLEAN hideaway. We recently found the Gulf View Waterfront Resort last friday when I was thinking of doing something neat for my wife's birthday weekend. Not only was it ranked #1 on trip advisor for hotels in Marathon, but it really topped the charts with us. We were greeted by the owner, Susan, son Mike and cute grandkids, and were instantly upgraded to the King Suite (complimentary), and, to boot, they didn't even charge us for our two 15 lb. Lahsa Apso puppy dogs (10 year old puppies)! Pool area is great, plenty of room to lounge, on a nice quiet inlet with plenty of canoes, kayaks, and palm trees surrounding you. Room and bathroom exceptionally clean, and a very comfortable bed! Mike, the son gave us great directions to Spanky's waterfront restaurant, a locals hangout, well hidden away from all the "tourist traps" and there is a great sports bar just a minutes walk away that has fantastic food, and cold beer specials. Definately a must stay if you are looking for the best value in a quiet weekend (or week or more) getaway! We have already made reservations to return in a few weeks to bring my Aunt! Definately a slice of heaven in the heart of the Keys!

  • Liked — Location, Value
  • Disliked — No See Ums (not the property's fault!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank htsniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We stayed at the Gulf View in mid-December, and left wishing we'd had more time to spend there. Our room was clean and quiet, and the attractive grounds had a picturesque pool, hammocks among the palm trees, and parrots and lizards on display. Free use of kayaks and canoes were a big plus as well. The owners' son Mike was especially helpful and a great source of advice on finding the best local restaurants, beaches, dive shops, etc.

Although our room had been recently renovated, the motel itself was built back in the 1960's and has retained the look and laid-back charm of that era. If you want a large, modern, posh resort, then the Gulf View may not suit you; but if you're looking for a relaxing place with a pleasing personality all its own, then this small motel is definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Adkmthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Property: Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing