We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Little Motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Jay, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming Little Motel”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We stayed at the Gulf View in mid-December, and left wishing we'd had more time to spend there. Our room was clean and quiet, and the attractive grounds had a picturesque pool, hammocks among the palm trees, and parrots and lizards on display. Free use of kayaks and canoes were a big plus as well. The owners' son Mike was especially helpful and a great source of advice on finding the best local restaurants, beaches, dive shops, etc.

Although our room had been recently renovated, the motel itself was built back in the 1960's and has retained the look and laid-back charm of that era. If you want a large, modern, posh resort, then the Gulf View may not suit you; but if you're looking for a relaxing place with a pleasing personality all its own, then this small motel is definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Adkmthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    124
    37
    16
    4
See reviews for
191
190
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Hard to find anything to be negative about the Gulf View Waterfront Resort. Some people expect something more because they have "resort" in the name. Maybe people who have never been to the Keys before?

There are no nice beaches in the Keys. The Keys are all coral exposed when ocean levels dropped thousands of years ago. Global warming will cause ocean levels to rise? I guess that means things will return to the way it was thousands of years ago.

The best place in the area to go if you want a beach experience is Sombrero Beach. Bahia Honda State Park has beaches that are highly rated and a little further away. Still, if you really want a nice beach, stay out of the Keys.

We stayed at the Gulf View from 12/27/07 to 1/3/08. Most of the time you feel as though you are there by yourself. All of the guests were quiet and polite.

The pool is raised and was very nice. You have to go up some stairs to get to the pool. There is a great view out over the Gulf from the pool area.

Our room was clean and there were clean towels every day. Not all rooms have bath tubs, some only have showers. This may be something to consider when making reservations. There was a stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and a full size refrigerator in the room along with utensils, plates, cups, pots and pans. Do your own dishes, there was dish soap provided. If you are planning to make your own meals, stock up on as much stuff as you can before you enter the Keys. Prices at the supermarkets are very high. There is a Walmart Super Center in Homestead at the end of the Florida Turnpike if you are driving.

One review recommended going to the 7 Mile Grill to eat. Personally, I have been to both and the Keys Fisheries is more fun. Check out reveiws of it in places to eat in Marathon.

  • Liked — Quiet location.
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CDOJr1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Nice friendly family-run motel. We rented an efficiency which was well-equipped and clean. It's a nice quiet location in a small bay fronted by few other properties and a good restaurant/bar within walking distance. We plan to go again

  • Liked — Large, airy with nice views
  • Disliked — Power failure
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tropicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This place was perfect for us! We brought our boat and our dog. Quiet, clean rooms, and the landscaping outside is beautiful. The housekeeping was also great. Even though we brought the dog, someone still came by every day to leave us more than enough towels and toilet paper. They have fresh coffee and tea outside every morning. The birds/turtles/and iguanas were really cool to look at while strolling around the yard. I can agree that there are biting bugs-you are on the gulf side (and in Florida!) so bring insect repellant. We did have one of the bottom remodeled floors. I would suggest bringing pillows(theirs were a little scratchy) and your own food to stock the fridge. I would also suggest to bring paper plates and cups because there is no dishwasher and you will be charged if you don't wash the dishes. Overall, we would definitely go back!!

  • Liked — pets allowed, boat access, quiet
  • Disliked — pillows in rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iluvzigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Great owners. Well kept
Nice Efficiencies (Old Block)(Small but well kept and appointed)
Good kitchens and gas grills (cooked caught lobster)
Good dock for less than 20 ft boats
Nice view and plant life
Good Pool
Very Limited night life in area
Diving OK, Snorkling, Sun and boating are tops
Eat at Barracuda's

  • Liked — Kitchen
  • Disliked — small/bed was too hard
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaSavageMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Gulf View Resort with our teen age son. We were visiting my oldest son (he lives in Miami) - he had to go out of town unexpectedly - so we toured the Keys for a few days.
Susan, the owner, was very kind and accommodating to all our last minute changes. Her son Michael was very helpful - and worked very hard to make sure we were happy.
The room was clean. I liked the idea of a "hard wood floor" instead of carpeting. I wonder why more hotels etc don't do this? It felt very clean and fresh. We had a nice glass table (my husband liked being able to put keys/glasses on the shelf underneath the table)
A new refridgerator and microwave.
The pool was clean - with lounge chairs in the shade. My son enjoyed the free kayaks that were available at the dock. I did not worry about him - the lagoon was large - but not very deep - and safe from speeding boats. We felt safe the entire visit. We never locked our room door - or worried about anything.
I would definitely stay here again - it felt more like staying with family (that you liked!) than a motel.

  • Liked — Clean, Inexpensive, lots of things to do
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

As someone who has lived his entire life in Fl and been to tons of beaches, I can say that this place is pretty unique. As others have said, its not the poshest place in the keys. But it is a throw back to a time that has truly passed us by on the west coast of FL. Grassy key (where it is actually located) is about 5 miles from marathon (which has everything you could need, such as restaurants and stores) and is so tranquil and relaxing. This place really fits that theme. It looks like it may have been built in the 60s or 70s (which is cool), and is very well kept, though the rooms show there age. However, if you are spending much of the daylight awake in your room, you probably should have stayed home. The grounds are utilitarian and very pleasant. Many BBQs and 2 awesome hammocks, where we spend nearly our entire day, are the highlights. Don’t get excited about the putting green tho. The pool is decent. The boats/kayaks are free to take and a great way to spend an early AM before it gets hot. We stayed in a studio and never used the kitchen b/c of all the great restaurants nearby. The Wreck restaurant is a short walk away, right next to the Dolphin research center. Giant chicken wings here are great. If you like cute animals, spend the 40 bucks and get to touch one of the dolphins and snap an unforgettable photo. The hotel will give you a BOGO pass for the basic entry fee if you are being stingy (no dolphin close ups tho!). In marathon take a snorkel trip to Sombrero reef. Eat at “the Island” which is on the right-hand side of the road as you enter marathon—best lobster sandwich anywhere!

Overall it’s a great place to stay and a good bargin, especially if you have kids/pets. I don’t and still had a blast.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FLguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Property: Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing