We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2005

We were booked in for 3 nights but only stayed 2. Basic doesn't cover it. There was rust along the bottom of the walls and fridge. The beds were the most uncomfortable we had slept in. No facilities for hanging clothes. Rusty air conditioning unit in window that rattled all night, and leaked. Bed linen and clothes felt damp. Requested plug for sink that was never supplied. If you want originality and dont mind staying in a hut then this is the place for you, pictures on website very misleading they must have been taken when newly refurbished (quite some time ago I think). Only saving grace was its friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank MandS161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 528 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2005

My wife-to-be and I stayed in the King Suite on the marina side. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. The grounds were well maintained and the staff was very friendly. The atmosphere of the resort is very laid back, relaxing and calm. Yes, the airport is close by but has very little traffic. The sunset viewing at the private beach is awesome and you'll get to meet other guests for the nightly event. The rooms are reasonable (for the area) and are just as advertised. We loved it there so much that we want to get married at the beach on the marina side during one of those fantastic Keys sunsets. We'll be back for sure!

Stayed: April 2005
7  Thank GTRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, Minnesota
17
Reviewed March 22, 2005

Wonderful place to stay. Despite the airport adjacent, it was generally quiet. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. We stayed on the bay side of the complex. There are some rooms near Highway 1 along with the rooms down by the water. The fridge was very nice for 12 packs of soda and sandwich ingredients and an adult beverage or two.

It was a tad pricey but what the heck, it wasn't bad for what you got. Pool, beach (no swimming), nice sunset, palm trees, and the staff was extremely friendly.

If this is the way it used to be, I very much like the good old days.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2005

Stayed at Coconut Cay last weekend for the seafood festival. The location could not have been better, literally across the street from the festival. Let me start with the pluses. Very reasonably priced, rooms had fridge, microwave and A/C. Front desk assigned us the wrong rooms, but immediately rectified the problem. Room was average size, normal size bathroom. The room seemed overall clean, tho my socks picked up some "color" and I put a towel on the floor of the shower when I used it. (Could have been residual, but who knows?) It tends to be a little noisy here with planes flying overhead, and early risers who make noise in the common areas. Would I stay here again? For seafood fest, yes. Otherwise, I'd probably look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Xwordster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2005

For the money, the Coconut Cay was a great place to stay. The staff are warm and friendly, and the accommodations were clean and functional. There is a fair amount of noise due to the proximity of the airport, which didn't bother me (but I am a heavy sleeper). I would certainly consider staying here again the next time I'm in the Keys.

6  Thank phurballdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
15
Reviewed February 26, 2005

One small missing description of the hotel is the presence of an airport runway immediately adjecent to it. We were unpleasantly surprised to find non-stop air traffic and, worse yet, helicopter training. The staff responded by noting that it was "kind of cool" to see landing aircraft so close under starry skies. I am sorry, but my fiance and I wanted to escape just such noise.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando, Fl
17
Reviewed February 21, 2005

Great little spot in a fun little town. Friendly staff and clean, inexpensive rooms will get my vote again! The 2 pools were great for the kids and the wife and I enjoyed a few beautiful wintertime sunsets from the point. Didn't have our boat with us this time but I wont make that mistake again. Plenty of dockage and thanks to the other guests who brought theirs and kept us in fish during our stay.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
3 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $141 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing