We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It all depends on what room you get.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It all depends on what room you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked a room through a booking site and the room we got was nasty. No back door, two big roaches, hot. I went back to the desk and we were given a room that had a private patio by the pool. Lovely.
But I watched an employee throw a Raid Roach Bomb into the room we had vacated and several hours later two young women were checking into that room. I felt bad for them. So here is what I learned: The rooms that are in the same building as the office are very inferior. Book with the hotel itself and request a room not in the office building.
My sister and I went out kayaking. The pool was good. Loved the private patios. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the row north of the office. DO NOT get a room in the same building as the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enzane2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysyMarathon, Front Office Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property/ business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize about the situation when you checked in. The hotel has his Weekly maintenance for all bugs that live in the Florida Keys. We are happy to know that you enjoyed are amenities and that you are willing to come again. We are offering bogo to repeat guest where you buy one night and get one free valid thru December 24th 2013 only. So give us a call and make your next reservation with us. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    153
    58
    49
    63
See reviews for
151
184
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I made my reservation with the owner and he was very pleasant and assisted me with a room rate. It was nice having a hotel that supplied fishing rods, bikes, paddleboards, etc. to their customers. Vacations are often expensive but to have these options available to us was helpful. The bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The hotel "book" offered a history of the hotel and helpful tips about the local area. It took a while for us to get hot water in our room due to being the furthest from the office. The hotel is old and the owners have done a good job of keeping it clean and up to date.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I cannot say enough about this resort. The entire staff is the most friendliest I have ever encountered. They treat you like family. They even remember my dogs name and have treats for her daily! The rooms are spotless and the amenities are extraordinary. I won't stay anywhere else again. They go above and beyond to make your trip memorable. Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysyMarathon, Front Office Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a feedback. The staff here at Coconut Cay treats the entire guest as family. Like we say, enter as strangers, leave as friends. We like to help are guest as best as we can. As for your dog always welcome. Hope we get to see you soon and don’t forget to bring your dog we will always have treats in the office. Once again thank you for the feedback and we hope to see in the near future.

Osaida Garcia
Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is a true Mom & Pop place with old style Florida Keys charm. I felt welcomed and at home. Lucretia Green at the front desk was super friendly and very helpful. Everyone on staff that I met were friendly and more than willing to be of service. I met the new owner and was very pleased to hear about their renovation plans to update this resort. He too was very professional and friendly. I look forward to my next visit and hope that with the renovations the same old style Florida Keys charm remains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarachele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysyMarathon, Front Office Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Coconut Cay. The owners and staff are working really hard in trying to make the place better. We are looking to see you in the near future. Thank you once again for the feedback.

Osaida Garcia
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

arrived in town without a reservation and walked in and got a room everything was very nice especially the desk help helen she answered every question politely even the 12th 13th and 14th questions, rooms were cold and clean, will be back next year !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deputy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysyMarathon, Front Office Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a feedback. The Staff at Coconut Cay are really friendly they try their best to make the guests feel like family and help them out with all their questions including the 15th 16th and 17th that they have. Hope to see you soon and once again thank you for talking the time leaving us a feedback.

Osaida Garcia
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Also, If you've booked a room here, don't stop off at Hawk's Cay Resort to see the dolphins before you get here, lol--unless you want to feel really poor! I'm a practical person and not "highfalutin" but I would've left once I saw the room, if I could've found something else.

I keep making excuses for this place because there are things about it that are just really cool in a kitschy, 1950s kinda way, and because everyone here was so nice...then I'm reminded that I've paid much more for this room than normal hotels charge, and...what are they doing with the money? They need to update the bathrooms as a bare minimum.

The Bad: Noise from street and airport nextdoor! Bring earplugs. Aluminum windows in bathroom were broken so the panes of vented glass wouldn't close completely. Cinder-block walls with tile floors w/filthily stained black grout. Housekeeping does not mop the edges and behind doors. No central A/C; window units mounted in the walls that drip condensation onto the bed. Super-outdated furniture, bare-bones lamps over beds, no coffeemaker. Hospital-quality cheap shampoo/conditioner.

The Good: New super-soft mattresses were great. No bugs, lol. Sliding glass doors in back led out to little patio, with Adirondack chairs, a picnic table, and a grill. Pool and recreation area. Pet Macaw and Parrot my kids loved! Very dog-friendly. Room includes free use of bikes, kayaks, paddleboats (ours broke in the middle of the canal which was a fun adventure), and fishing poles.

Overall, this is a GREAT place for no-frills families/people like me who are used to living simply, just do not expect even a Holiday Inn level or you will be disappointed. For people who have a boat; you can park it here, cook your catch on the grill, etc. One family let us take pics with all the lobster they'd caught. But there's just no competition here with chain hotels' amenities, so they should change the price, accordingly.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Route 1, closer to canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joydevotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysyMarathon, Front Office Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. Like you had mention overall this is a great place to stay. The owners and the staff are working really hard in making this place even better than what it used to be. We are taking the time in going into each and every room to inspect it profoundly, we are reading all the guest complaints and taking action, so next time that you come down you will see all the changes the resort has been doing and still working on. We are glad that you stayed with us and thank you for leaving us a feedback. Hope to see you in the near future.

Osaida Garcia
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've stayed here 5 times since 2007 and have enjoyed each visit. There is a lot to do in the middle Keys and great places to eat if you take the time to get recommendations from the locals. The bikes and kayaks provided by the resort are a great way to get around. And the staff is wonderful and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms with the kitchenette. Eating in saves money that can be spend our other adventu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysyMarathon, Front Office Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a feedback. It’s amazing to know that you have been coming here since 2007. As you can see threw out the years the owners have been making a lot of changes and improvements on the property and the rooms. The staff is supper friendly and they will help you out the best that they can, some of the front desk staff have been her for 20yrs and they will let you know what are some really good places to eat and hang out to have some fun. As a regular guest you must know that we have BOGO where you buy one night and get one free it expires on December 24th 2013. Once again thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Osaida Garcia
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
3.1 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Property: Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing