We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four days in marathon, fl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Four days in marathon, fl”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in the larger home provided by Coconut Cay Resorts. It provided rooms for three couples. The house was in fairly good condition but needed some TLC. It was clean and provided clean towels and linens. The little cottages look nice from the outside. We took the kayacs out one day. Also you can take the local bus into Key West. Lots to do in the area and restaurants. The owners were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    154
    59
    51
    65
See reviews for
154
187
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place was perfect, rooms are huge and clean. There is a back garden where you can have your own BBQ. The staff was really kind and polite. Location is great if you travel within the Keys but want to stay in a quiet place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ad-ukit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the brown house with a large family group. The house was great for us because we has the kitchen, laundry and room for all. The hotel location is excellent for water activities and the house (and some rooms) come with boat dock-age. The owner and staff ( Osaida and Brittany) were very accommodating to our group needs.

Room Tip: If you bring a boat, get a dock side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Across the street you can get dinghy room with a tiny bathroom and no real amenities for $110. Thankfully we found this colorful, very inviting setting for a dollar cheaper! I was pretty sure the place across the street didn't even have a t.v. These rooms are basic, but clean, bright and has a feeling of spaciousness. We had a mini fridge and a microwave as well, which we found really useful. The only thing I was missing and really could live without down here on a sunny day is a mirror adjacent to a plug in for the hair dryer.
Picnic tables outside almost every room, BBQ areas, a decent pool area to relax and unwind, free kayaks to use on the premises on the canal behind the property which many units back onto. Some units a fully equipped with kitchens.
All in all for the price I would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyImo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Girls week in the keys turned into the battle of the bugs. Roaches in kitchen. Told 5 different people including the owner. First desk clerk handed us a bottle of bug spray. We won't go back. They took $50 dollars off of an almost $900 bill. We were told the owner was in a meeting and would call us. Still waiting for that call 3 months later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

At first glance, Coconut Cay Resort appeared rather ordinary in a colorful way, but we were soon bowled over by our spacious, airy, clean room. Two, full sized, comfortable beds awaited us on cool tile floors. The best surprise was that we were on the waterfront side. Our room opened up to a patio which overlooked the secluded channel. We had our own picnic table, and comfortable patio chairs, and relaxed under our own coconut tree. We kayaked for free in our 2-person kayak (the paddleboat was in for repairs) being careful not to create a wake out of respect to the manatees. We were close to nature spotting iguana showing off their colors, fish leaping in the air, and a white hawk devouring a fish. We were too busy relaxing to enjoy the pool or to try our luck at fishing. Our room had a full bath with shower and the water good and hot the way I like it. Fridge, microwave, cable TV, free wi-fi, air conditioner. Free ice at the front desk, free coffee too. For lunch we enjoyed the best lamb panini"s and delightfully perfect cupcakes at the local Baricci Cafe. For breakfast, the Stuffed Pig was a pleasant surprise with breakfast outdoors in the shade of tikki roofs. Conche or lobster fritters were on the menu as well as traditional breakfasts at reasonable prices. There is a small airport right next to the motel but you can't hear the planes at night because they're considerate. Excellent accomodations for the price and in-season no less. The staff is warm, friendly and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Suitable for couples or family with children. Many fun and purse-friendly shops nearby. Marathon is at the halfway mark between Key Largo and the Keys, which is an hour-1/2 drive. Coconut Cay offers a good home base because of this proximity to all the great sites.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfsup50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a clean hotel. No bugs.
Our room came with a refrigerator and a microwave. The room had a nice patio on a canal.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
They have many items for guests to use for free. A kayak ,fishing polls and bikes to mention a few.
This is a great place to stay for a few nights

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
3.0 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Property: Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing