We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Coconut Cay for one night on the way down to Key West and it was a little gem. We got upgraded to rooms overlooking the waterway out to the sea and the rooms were clean, nicely furnished and excellent value for money. The whole place has a 40's/50's style charm and you get free use of kayaks. I'd definitely recommend it if you want something cheap, cheerful and clean with friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the waterside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Public Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We enjoyed having you visit us and look forward to seeing you again. Be blessed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 523 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Thanks to Steve & Kirsty for all your friendly help. We were looking for a chilled Keys place to stay and found that at Coconut Cay. Great suggestions from Steve on what to do, Kirsty introduced us to Sugar & Cracker and our boys loved playing in the pool, not to mention the Kayaks! Clean room, relaxing pool area, free kayaks & bikes, friendly staff, what more can you ask for. Hope to visit again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for the review. From all of us here at Coconut Cay, we are glad that your family had a "chilled" and fun time here in the heart of the Florida Keys. Please consider us for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you are traveling to Marathon in the Florida Keys, I highly suggest that you pay this resort a visit! Jim, Steve, Bart, Pam and Kristy all helped to make my stay a very pleasant one. The rooms are clean and even the ones without an efficiency come with a with a mini frig and microwave ovens. They offer a very affordable weekly rate if you are can stay for a week! They sweetened the deal by offering me a free boat slip as a bonus! A nice feature about Coconut Cay is that its property extends out into the Gulf of Mexico and offers an unobstructed view of those beautiful sunsets!

Room Tip: Rent by the week for the best rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for visiting with us and for your review. The sunset view will be waiting for your return and we can't wait to see you again. Be blessed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

wanted to get out of key west for a couple of days.(really) took the shuttle bus to marathon for 4 bucks droped my girlfriend and me off across the street from the hotel nice simple place for a little rest loved sitting on the canel or pool at night. only wish, the bikes need a front basket if your running to dions or publixs planning more R&R in october here also the staff was always very helpfull and friendly

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Public Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. The staff and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. We are working on the bike baskets.:) Enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Coconut Cay. The staff was so nice, and gave us many ideas of things to do. Our kids could not get enough of the free bicycles and kayaks. It is very nice to have your boat docked right behind your room. The rooms were clean, a/c was cold, and beds were comfortable. The kids enjoyed the Turtle Hospital a few miles down the road. We would definetly go back. Perfect place to bring your boat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Public Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

It's all about family here. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us a review. We're glad a good time was had by all. Yes, it is very convenient to have quick boat access near your back door and quick bay side access. Please come back and visit us again. Be blessed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Fisrt impression was not great, but the place redeemed itself in the light of day! Pulled in about midnight on a Friday night in the pouring rain. Since I was coming in late, staff left the room unlocked and key inside (i was a bit nervous about that). Because of the rain and where my room was, teenagers(?) were hanging around in the hall and drinking - I was a little uncomfortable since I was traveling alone - but no problems. I think there are only 3 rooms that open into a hall, the rest open up to outside.

Walking around the next morning, I found the place was really cute. Nice pool, clean grounds, dock for boats, bikes, kayaks. Room was very clean and still has remnants of old style motel (e.g., shower and shower head reminded me of my days at girl's camp!)Fresh paint kept everything looking new(ish) and bright. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. It is a small motel type place with lots of charm.

Since I travel for business quite often, I'm used to Hilton or Holiday inn type places....this is not in the same category, but definitely a good find at a great price.

The front desk said I was in the "older" part because they we're booked solid. She made sure I was happy with the room and described some of the newer rooms if I could come back for another visit.

I would stay here again and am really glad I found the place!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank tennillebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Public Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The staff was very nice. just the kinda place I like for lobster season. Price was great. Pool was clean, and a very nice area to hang out at. My girlfriend loved the pet birds. Probably our destination next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Public Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you limited out while you were here. Sugar and Cracker says hello and can't wait to see you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
3.0 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $116 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing