We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Vacacion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Nice Vacacion”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I just love Coconut cay We are Ojeda's Family, we are client since 5 years ago, and we went every year, the people are very nice, I love the pool, it was very clean. We always got the dock side kitchen room, and it was very nice, the kitchen was perfect. I mean everything was Excellent, I think the only problem is the Air Conditioner. It is old, so it is not that cold
I really recommend Coconut Cay!!!!!

Room Tip: Dock Side Kitchen!!! Perfect One!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianelis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hello Ojeda family. Thank you again for staying with us. We replaced the AC, sorry for the inconvenience. Steve always speaks very highly of you. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wonderful family. From all of us here, we look forward to SEAing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    154
    59
    51
    65
See reviews for
154
187
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Its an older property, but we found Coconut Cay to be clean, quiet, and hospitable during our recent four night stay. Our room was on the front facing the highway, but noise was never a problem. The management and staff go out of their way to be accommodating, and were very helpful with recommending restaurants, attractions, and things to do. I enjoyed having free access to a kayak, and paddled on the Gulf side, launching right from the motel dock.The pool is very nice, with access to a covered building when the sun gets too hot.
We enjoy staying at older places, as long as they have been maintained and are clean. We found Coconut Cay to be a great place to truly relax and unwind. That's exactly what I wanted to do on vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phonebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you again for staying with us and thank you for your review. We are always trying to improve here to make your stay just the way you want. Yes, this is a great place to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed there in May 2012 and left the first night since the room was infested with bed bugs. Do not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jaroslava m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
As stated earlier, we have not had any bed bug problems. There are times that we have "transient" clients stay and (May) have brought them with them. However, we take immediate action and they are gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Fairmount, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place is a nice little gem! The people were very nice. Rooms are old and worn but clean. They have a pool and nice little pool area. Nice location, close to many places to eat. Good price, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 44 is very shaded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia-Girl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your time to write a review for us. I will agree with you, it is a little Gem. Yes, worn a little, but being an early 1950's property, it's just charm. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My Family and I stayed at Coconut cay resort and Marina in Marathon, Florida this past weekend. Having such a huge family Steve DeRoche gave attention and showed qualities of a friend/family member rather than an Manager. This isn't your 5 star hotel but it sure will leave you satisfied. A relaxing atmosphere perfect place to go fishing and get away. You have the beach near by a boat ramp for your boat and free kayaks, life jackets 24 hour pool. Steve and the staff is all about family he is a big fan of kids. He is involved with those who stay there. Nothing fancy just a perfect place to relax and get away Coconut Cay Resort and Marina will be expecting me again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroldozuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart33050, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We want you back. Yes Steve likes kids because kids like kids. We are all about family and can't wait for yours to come here too. Thank you for your time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were looking for a reasonable place to spend the night on our way to Key West - we were so amazed! Very friendly stuff that makes you feel like home and part of a family. The room was so nice, clean, spacious and the patio area was the perfect hang out before bedtime. You've got all you need in the kitchen, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, fridge and freezer - as well as dishes, pots and silverware - what else do you need? Just perfect for a very competitive rate. We will come back, that's for sure. Thank you so much, Steve and the crew !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My family and I just came back from a three day stay at the Coconut Cay Resort and Marina in Marathon, Florida. We were a party of nine and we had a wonderful time. Granted the resort needs updating, but the warmth of Steve the owner and his staff made a world of difference. Expect free kajaks and wi-fi. The pool was nice and Sombrero beach is jus a few block away, as are restaurants and all kinds of ammenities. If you have a boat, as we did, you have two boat ramps to choose from and quick access to the bay and open ocean. Don't come expecting the comforts of a luxury resort, but the good news is that you won't be paying the luxury prices either. We will go back again this summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amauryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
3.0 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Property: Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing