We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“southern hospitallity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Steve and the employees where great. They are a wealth of knowledge of the area. Great recomendations of places to go and places to eat. The birds are a great addition to the property. Biker friendly motel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 523 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year on our way to Key West. When we walked in our room we were a litte disappointed but after further consideration we realised that it had everything that we needed for a 2 night stay. The room was basic but it was clean which was all we really needed. The BBQ on our patio area we didnt use but it was full of dirty tissue paper so we wouldnt have used it. On a whole the hotel grounds are well maintaned but as a non- smoker I did feel there were far too many cigarette ends on our patio area and grass which could be cleaned up.
There is a small diner opposite the hotel and a shopping centre a little further own and opposite. There are also some nice restaurants which we tried, the Island Tiki Bar, Saltys and the Keys fisheries market.
The pool deck is nice and I did attempted to enter the pool but the water was freezing. We also went to have a look at the marina area but it was just a strip at the back of the hotel and there was no where to walk. The hotel was good value for money but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUSTYBREEZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a family owned hotel. Steve the owner went out of his way to ensure I enjoyed my stay. The free paddle boat and kayaks are a really cool perk. Simply left my license, got the key and went paddling out into the gulf in a matter of minutes. The room was clean and the location was great.

The front desk was also great in terms of recommendations for things to do and places to eat throughout the Keys. I highly recommend this hotel especially considering the affordable rate.

Room Tip: Free Wireless, but some rooms get a stronger signal than others, so just mention that at check in if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a family owned resort who live on site so they treat you like part of the furniture. If your're looking for corporate customer service and artificial platitudes this place just wont do. Talk to Regina, she had a room cleaned while we waited that was friendly to our 80lb Bulldog! And those who travel with pets know how valuable that is. Five Stars!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My family and I were in the Keys this fall and found a fun Bahama-like motel that looks like it came straight out of the 1950's. The Coconut Cay is a brightly painted motel centered around a beautiful courtyard, complete with two tropical birds and a lovely pool and cabana. It is a perfect place for families in search of a true Old-Florida experience as it offers free use of bicycles, fishing rods, kayaks and paddle boats.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bauerjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed at this great little resort for the weekend. Beautiful quaint little resort. Friendly, clean, relaxed atmosphere. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmoore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff and owners were friendly, and gave us some very good local information for food, and events, etc. The rooms were clean and very comfortable! We highly recommend "Coconut Cay Resort & Marina" for just a nice getaway, fishing trip or family trip to the keys. They have free bikes, kayaks, fishing poles, and more, I am sure. We will surely keep them in mind for friends and family traveling to the keys!
Thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful weekend!

David & Tina Moore

Room Tip: Rooms out back are quiet, no road noise. But there are also some small cabins/efficiencies. Great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaS548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
3.0 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $123 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing