We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #11 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Just stayed for a few days (Christmas 2011 in the Keys!) with fiance. Had a blast! Excellent service, checked in at midnight, no problem. Room near road, no noise problems. Room with sliding door to small patio and large grassy area. Took our dog, very dog friendly place! Lots of space for pup to sniff around. Cool canal with free kayaks to take for a spin, although we didn't do that. Free bikes too!
Wildlife was awesome! Owner has two big parrots that live at the property. Managers are eager to take them out and let them walk on your shoulder and feed them!! Very cool. Also, a cool manatee comes up the canal every morning and loves to suck on the fresh water hose that is connected to the dock. So very cool! Had a great time "watering" the manatee!
Good location. Sombrero beach is close by. Best beach around--and dog friendly! Pup played off leash all day. Restaurants and grocery close by. Took day trip to Key West, about an hour drive...fun!!
Very charming quaint place. Only problem that needs fixing is the box spring on one of the beds was broken. We slept on the other bed. Simple stay, not a ton of amenities, but good enough for a chilled out vacation in the Keys! Overall had a GREAT stay, will go back again!

Room Tip: room near road was ok, but rooms on canal look super cool. we also checked out the house you can re...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 521 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

If you need a concierge or French Milled Soap do not stay here, but if you want to stay in a clean property with character Coconut Cay may be exactly right for you. On their sign they have "The Way It Used To Be" which captures what they offer, nothing fancy, but a great group of folks providing an experience that will capture a simpler time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtnrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Those of us who have been fortunate enough to have lived in the Keys understand what they are all about. Part of it is the feeling of the Keys and the Coconut Cay Resort has that feel. If you are looking for ritzy/swank/savvy, go north or south - if you are looking for the Keys vibe, stop here

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lq6559gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Beds old with mattress sagging in the middle and blankets were stained, noisey airconditioner,no clothes hanging space, fan did not work, water pressure very low, noise from main road & back had continuous music playing from the pool area , bathroom shelf falling off wall, TV old & picture quality not good, telephone did not work but reception not interested & no offer of help, but discovered after moving furniture that it was not plugged in, only to small lights above each bed, and no light over raised steps to get to the bathroom. If window opened, no mesh over so bugs could get in. Grounds not well kept, Suppose to be a special birthday treat but this place marred the experience.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there make sure the room is away from the road and room is in good condition inc...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is a old resort, probably from the 50s but it's well maintained with a fresh coat of Caribbean paint everywhere. We spent 8 days here; I would recommend a shorter stay just to get the feel of this place. The beds where a bit uncomfortable so after a couple of nights some people like me will get a sore back. They were a bit stingy with the towels giving us only two small towels for two people. When we asked for more, they replaced them the next day with only two towels. It appears they didn't replace the sheets during our entire stay. We stayed in one of the units on the canal, otherwise the non-canal units have no water view. I borrowed one of the "Free" kayaks and rowed out to the ocean. I was a little disappointed I had to surrender my drivers license to use the the kayak in spite of the fact they had my credit card on file. The pool was cold, They advertise free grills and fortunately there was a charcoal grill in front of our unit, I didn't see any other charcoal grills by the other units, They had a sign in the main office telling me I could rent a gas grill for $25 per day. I can buy a gas grill for less that $50.00 at the Kmart down the street. This resort is at the end of the Marathon Airport runway. Most days this didn't present a problem since this airport gets little traffic but there were a couple of nights we where woke up in response to a landing jet.
The staff was friendly and willing to accommodate our schedule when maintaining the room. There was lots of wildlife on the canal including an Egret eating it's catch at the top of a pole and several iguana. I really think this would be the perfect place for someone with a fishing boat since you can dock a boat right outside of your room when in the canal units.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The best bargain in the Florida Keys, hands down. Its an older place but appears to have been very recently updated. That's actually what we found so charming about it. The place was right out of a Jimmy Buffett song and is what the keys were probably like when my grandparents and parents went! They even have two trained birds, a Macaw and a Cockatoo that talk and you can hold. Kids will love this place and we can't wait to take our nephews! Our room was on a canal and the place even let us use their kayaks to go out into the Gulf for free! Speaking of free they also let us use bikes and fishing equipment too which was really cool. I saw a Manatee, tons of fish, an Osprey Eagle, talking birds and had a great time dealing with SUPER FRIENDLY people for less than I'd spend at a crappy motel anywhere else in the keys. Definitely best deal for the money in the keys!

Room Tip: Get one on a canal!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Coconut Cay on our way to Key West. We had a blast at this property and would suggest it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay that has a lot of personality. The room was clean and the staff was fantastic. Very friendly. So much to do! Free use of kayaks, fishing out the back of our room, bikes, pet birds to take pictures with and just all around fun. Good location. It was a fun place to stay. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Dock side room!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
3.0 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $102 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing