We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the canal rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #11 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had a large family gathering here this month. We stayed in a lot of the canal rooms and the big brown house down the road. I love the canal rooms.. we'd all meet out on the decks, early in the morning, and enjoy the birds. The free use of the kayaks, paddle boats, and bikes, was a great treat. The whole staff were courteous and friendly and all you have to do is ask for something and it's brought to you. The rooms were cleaned daily and it's great to see they're eco-minded about the sheets and towels. We'll definately be returning to the Coconut Cay.

Room Tip: Reserve a canal room
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathymds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 521 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Coconut Cay motel was recomended by a friend who said it was a great place to stay and reasonably priced. We arrived and were treated exceptionally by the owner and staff. We had booked a cottage off the water but when we arrived we found it too small for the two of us. We went to the office and asked for a room on the canal and they said no problem. We got to our new room and found it very clean and comfortable. They also gave us info on the best place to eat. We told them we were going to Key West the following morning and they gave us lots of tips on what to see and how to best get around. Include in the room are free use of paddle boats. They also have a heated pool and a playground for kids... Well done Steve Thank You.. Bob&Bobi

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Our weekend at Coconut Cay was close to perfect. We had hoped to have kitchenette but had a mini fridge and microwave instead, which worked out fine. Dockside was delightful! We found the airplanes overhead entertaining and didn't even notice them during the night while we were sleeping. Our room was clean as were the grounds. The pool and deck were impeccable. The kayaking, paddle boat and bikes made my 13 year olds birthday weekend so much fun, that my 7 year old son wants to come back for his birthday in August!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandabekasaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I was more than pleasantly surprised by my stay in Coconut Cay. I have no idea where the people who have written bad reviews have stayed but it must not have been here. My room was clean NO BUGS!!!!! Staff fantastic and just an overall great place. WIll be returning with my family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momof497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This WAS at one time a good place to stay, but the last time I was there it was terrible. The place was full of roaches and the noise was horrible. People were out on the front steps until 3:00 in the morning yelling and screaming. The window would not close so I had no choice but to listen to the noise. The staff runnning the motel were very nice, but if you don't want to bring roaches home don't go there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe34185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

People say "It was like staying with family" I say it was way better than that, more like staying with a "best friend you haven't seen in 20 years" Steve ,Pam, Jake ,Deb,Pat,Jen,Nikki, and all of the team there were so great. Every contact with them, made us feel like our needs were at the top of their agenda. We stayed a MONTH and biked 275 miles covering every square foot of Marathon and were so glad we were at Coconut Cay. The place and the people were the best we have ever known. It was a TREAT !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikespud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The people were nice enough but the building to the west of the office where we stayed is a wreck. The woodwork is deteriorating. The tile in the hallway was cracked and broken pieces were lying there when we arrived and still there four days later.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cublover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
3.0 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $102 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing