We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty good Thai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Takara Japanese Restaurant

Takara Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have visited 4-5 times. It was always good. Never too busy and service always good. We would go back again. Usually about $50 for 2.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarathonFlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    8
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Well I have been going there for 5 years and have always enjoyed the food..until a few days ago when I was shocked to be told the price doubled and when I questioned why the price double a customer got up started shouting at me that I was a lair and he had never seen me there and wanted to pay for my meal so I would leave and never come back.. And every time I tried to defend myself he just shouted louder.. Finally I left in tears only after I paid my own meal.. So I will not be returning ever again..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hatetakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you want sushis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped there with the kids as they were clamouring for sushis. A lot of local guys and a familly atmosphere. Nothing fency but the sushis were okay and the staff friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank olivier m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for light food fare rather late on a weeknight & were referred here by our deskclerk at Sea Dell motel. Showed up at 9 p.m. & staff were wonderful to make drink recommendations & service was good. Don't let older decor affect your impression because the food was the best Thai Payang & Masumura. Didn't rush us at all. Very accommodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Thai in Marathon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had great thai food with efficient, friendly service. The food was flavorful, the vegetables were fresh and cooked just right. The tofu was firm and slightly chewy (how we like it). Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Takara Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing