We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around Marathon
from $155.88
More Info
from $29.99
More Info
from $89.99
More Info
Key West Day Trip
444 Reviews
from $39.00
More Info
Reviews (3,251)
Filter reviews
3,251 results
Traveler rating
1,798
952
366
95
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,798
952
366
95
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice beach public beach volleyball courts picnic tables palm trees white sand free beach pretty beach sandy beaches clean restrooms sea grass lot of seaweed nice park covered picnic bathroom facilities bahia honda clear water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 3,251 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You'll need to grab a city map and maybe ride a bike. We drove but a bike would have been more fun. Sand is hard and lumpy so you will want beach shoes and I am NOT a tenderfoot☺️, water is beautiful! Nice place to hang your hammock ( I didn't think of that) you can cook out too. Bathrooms and consetion stand were very clean. Of course you can not beat the view! Drive through the main entrance at the Truman district and follow the signs. Maybe 3 min from the square? Great old homes all over the place.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Vacationer518194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before traveling to the Keys, I had heard that Sombrero Beach was one of the best. This beach was walking distance to our rental home so I was very excited to spends multiple days hanging out at this beach. What a disappointment. At least half of the beach is closed for renovation, I can understand this. But there was nothing spectacular about this beach. Very boring and did not go back.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

Shallow water to deep water, playground, bathrooms and showers. Very nice to go for a swim, picnic or sunning.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019 via mobile

So the Keys are not known for having nice beaches. They have nice water to go out on, but not nice beaches. Sombrero Beach is one of the only beaches in the keys but it is not a nice beach. The sand is very average quality at best the ground is mucky, and full of seaweed along the shore. Also both times we’ve visited in the last year a lot of it is torn up and there’s a lot of construction equipment on the beach. If you’re dying to go to a beach while in the keys this would work but I would not come to the keys to go to this beach.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank neitzjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

this is the beach the locals go to, I dont see why other than its free. It was a slimy bottom very cloudy water and lots of dogs swimming around. I would not go back

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank tt153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews