We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Beach for the Keys”
Review of Sombrero Beach

Sombrero Beach
Ranked #4 of 50 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice Beach for the Keys”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband I spent a day at Sombrero during our trip to the Keys. It was a nice beach for the Keys, but it is pretty small and got fairly crowded as the day went on. A lot of local high schoolers gathered in the afternoon, disrupting the peacefullness we enjoyed earlier in the day. The sand was white and soft, but it was loaded with cigarette butts and bottle caps. There is no fee to get in which is nice. There are nice restrooms and pavillions as well. Overall, we were not super impressed. My husband and I went to Bahia Honda State Park a couple days later and we were MUCH more pleased!! Check out Sombrero if you have extra time, but definitely make time for Bahia Honda!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,419
    735
    238
    67
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Its a nice beach with plenty of room for a picnic. We grilled burgers and played volleyball then took a nice swim.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betthany84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We will stop there every time we go by Marathon”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our plan was to leave Key West and stop by a beach in the keys for a day on our way back home. We were debating between Bahia Honda and Sombrero Beach. Both have what we were looking for but we went with Somrero because it was free. It was a city beach, with some good swimming areas, tanning areas and snorkeling areas. There were a lot of people there but not too crowded. We are not big into diving /snorkeling but we saw many colorful fish, coral, a stingray, a small barracuda (perfect size not to scare us out of the water).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William-Scarlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The only real beach in the Keys”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is by far one of the best beaches in the florida keys. Beaches in the keys are specific and usually not what one would expect - you really need to search for a real beach as there arent that many.

But Sombrero Beach is the closest to a real beach, clean white sands, beautiful sea front - clean sea bottom! good place with parking /showers/ changing cabins/ many activities for the kids, great view and beautiful palm trees!


Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BorkaMoscou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sweet mother of wow!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We would have drive past the turn 20 times and never known this beach was there if I hadn't seen it on Tripadvisor. Yes, there are playgrounds. Yes, there is a sandy beach. The real gold at this beach is the shore snorkeling to be found around the fossilized coral rock outcrops down the beach in the sea grass. Wear really good water shoes because if you walk on the rock outcroppings there are some shockingly sharp edges, but it is so worth it to see all of the amazing marine wildlife, hermit crabs, sea slugs, and brightly colored fish swimming in the holes. Carefully snorkel around the edge in the shallow water. We saw dozens and dozens of different types of fish, including barracuda, but also the dazzlingly colored fish you would expect around a living coral reef.

The clarity was mediocre for the mid-Keys when we were there, but it was very windy at the time and a storm had just blown through.

Not to be missed. Be prepare for seagrass. Completely free to enter the park and free to park. What do you have to lose?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mindiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Beach also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sombrero Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing