We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what comes to mind when you think of seafood in the Keys”

Fish Tales Market & Eatery
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Family owned and Operated Seafood/Meat market and Restaurant. We serve the freshest local seafood, burgers, sandwiches, salads and more. Daily Specials; Beer & Wine. Mon.-Fri. 10-6:30 & Sat. 10-4
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is what comes to mind when you think of seafood in the Keys”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

A basic diner atmosphere but provides quick, cheery service with a great selection of menu and special items.

We had the Surfer Clams and Scallops for lunch. The food came quick, was hot and very good.

While we were there, we also purchased some fresh mahi mahi for dinner.

Highly recommended and would return again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeffreybrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    160
    40
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to have your catch cooked!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

After a morning fishing trip on the Marathon Lady, we walked over to Fish Tales Market & Eatery to have it cooked for our lunch. Lunch was delicious!

We were impressed enough to stop back in for dinner a few nights later. It is a popular place with limited seating. It was getting close to their closing time so we moved on.

Small family run operation. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDOJr1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Definitely a don't judge a book by the cover place! It's a fish and beef market that has a small restaurant. We first went to buy some seafood to cook at our rental and picked up some super fresh Keys shrimp. And when we saw they also sold USA Angus prime beef we got a couple fantastic strip steaks and had one heck of a dinner in.

We returned for an early dinner last night and wow was it good. We were seafooded out by that point and had one of their dinner specials beef stroganoff over noodles. Blown away good and huge portion for $11. We topped it off with the best key lime pie we have ever had. A true find in Marathon! No wonder the locals love it!

Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyJulie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and German beer”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We.have lunch on the patio several times during our stay in the Keys(about 2 1 /2 months). We love the fried yellowtail snapper. Be sure to try one of their German beers on tap in a frosted glass. Good service and fresh food, plus daily specials.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jba064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifden, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow and wow”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

From the outside this place looks ok. Kinda like a roadside cafe. This appealled to us and thats why we went in. However, once inside and reading the menu you realise this is more than a bog standard diner. The food here is delicious. The service is damned good too. Cant wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Lach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales Market & Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Fish Tales Market & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing