We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fresh seafood!”

Fish Tales Market & Eatery
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Family owned and Operated Seafood/Meat market and Restaurant. We serve the freshest local seafood, burgers, sandwiches, salads and more. Daily Specials; Beer & Wine. Mon.-Fri. 10-8:30; closed Sat. & Sun.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch based on TA reviews. Keep in mind this is a fish market with a bar and a few tables. Not fancy but the fish was very good. The menu was interesting and different. I had the Jerusalem Snapper (mushroom and artichoke topping) and it was delicious. My husband had the Johnny fried fish sandwich. The fish in both were fresh and tasty. The fries and black beans and rice were only ok. The service was adequate, friendly. Prices comparable to area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RnJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 677 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you're in the mood for great seafood, be sure to visit Fish Tales next time you're in Marathon.

There's no view, not much ambiance, just fantastic food and great service. For $10.95, we each had beer battered fried grouper (3 pieces) with ample sides of potato salad and cole slaw. The food was not only very good, but also fresh. The portions were huge! With a late lunch here, you won't have an appetite for dinner!

The breading was just right, light, not greasy at all. Rather than force feeding you fries like most restaurants do, they offer your choice of several sides.

This was a great meal, with terrific service. Try it, you'll love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRS358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is nothing fancy, just a seafood market with a small diner, probably 10 tables total. The catch of the day was grilled up nicely with some nice vegetables and a choice of potatoes, plus coleslaw. I had a piece of their key lime pie to top it off. I was stuffed, all for about $15. I'd definitely go back next time I'm in Marathon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hawkeye68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Dining room is tiny with no atmosphere but the food more than makes up for it. Tried the beer battered grouper. One of the best I ever had. Everything was fresh, made to order and served steaming hot. Prices very reasonable . Great service . Be sure to stop by if in the area

1  Thank iove2travel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I buy my steaks here and really want to like the restaurant. This was out third visit and will be our last. The burger I ordered we'll done had so much grease the bun was saturated and you couldn't pick up the sandwich. My wife dolphin sandwich had the same problem. It was grilled, where did the grease even come from? Last time we were here I ordered a tbone steak. It was awful. They fried it with no seasoning whatsoever. It came out grey and chewy. Then they had no steak sauce. The only flavor came from some petter on the table. They do have good steaks in their market you can cook at home but I would not recommend their menu food at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joecooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rae53_10, Owner at Fish Tales Market & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

wow...first of all, I think you must have Fish Tales confused with another restaurant as we do not carry a t-bone steak on our menu & if we did, would never fry it??? Also, both our burgers and fish sandwich are done on a charcoal grill, so am positive there would never be a problem with having "grease" on either.
As I said, you must have us confused with another restaurant....am very sorry that you had a bad experience where ever you really were!!!
If you ever do get to Fish Tales, we will make sure that you are taken care of...and that your meal is as you like it.
Jackie, George & John Eigner/owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales Market & Eatery also viewed

 
Key Colony Beach, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fish Tales Market & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing