We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, good price”

Fish Tales Market & Eatery
Ranked #6 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Family owned and Operated Seafood/Meat market and Restaurant. We serve the freshest local seafood, burgers, sandwiches, salads and more. Daily Specials; Beer & Wine. Mon.-Fri. 10-6:30 & Sat. 10-4
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok food, good price”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got evening take out from the place; it was just ok. The sald was soggy, but ok. The fish was good. Get there before 6:00 p.m. as the place closes at 6:30 and the place is serious about closing on time. The beer selection is excellent. The desserts are great, The pricing is fair and competitive. All in all it is a good place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankiebocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    160
    40
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly little place”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

In a place where everything seems designed to take advantage of vacationers, Fish Tales Market is pleasant exception. The restaurant does not have very many tables and has an informality that makes you feel at home. The menu is not extensive but is interesting with offerings like wahoo which I had never heard of but turned out to be a delicious fish. Homemade soups and pies add to the interest. Prices are very good for the area. The only downside is that the restaurant closes at 6:30 PM so you need to get there before all the tables are gone for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasT607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rae53_10, Owner at Fish Tales Market & Eatery, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Fish Tales. We are always trying out new and different menu items...from our "50/50" (ground bacon with chuck burger); chicken/bacon/cheddar bratwurst; our twist on fish tacos; to the Mesquite Marinated Wahoo you mentioned...the menu is always changing.
And we try to keep the menu affordable not only for our local's, but for our visitors to the Keys.
Great Food, at afforadable prices with great service is our moto.
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Fish Tales and hope you will be back again.
Jackie, George, Johnny Eigner, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Smells fishy”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were there close to closing time and it showed. I ordered the mesquite grilled fish (can't remember which fish now--maybe wahoo?) and when it came it had been basted with something sweet. I would never have ordered it if it had said that on the menu. My partner and I switched plates, since he doesn't mind sweet glazes. All said, the fish was ordinary, the beans and rice was overseasoned and we felt rushed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzwil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rae53_10, Owner at Fish Tales Market & Eatery, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your first visit to Fish Tales. And yes, sometimes it smells "fishy"...we are a seafood market, as well as a restaurant and we do filet our fish up fresh each day. Even though we try to finish fileting early before our lunch rush, it can carry over a little later due to the demand in the market.
As for the Sweet Marinade on the Mesquite Grilled Wahoo...that is one of our most highly requested specials as you can tell from other reviews. It is also the marinade George uses when he smokes fish for our customers...and they love it. Sorry again that it wasn't to your liking. And as for "feeling rushed"...I did talk to our wait staff about that, and even though you came in close to closing and after a long day we are all ready to go home, that is no excuse and we do apologize. We try very hard to make all of our customers feel welcome, and hope that you leave with a good dining experience...we hope you come back and give us another try....we will make sure to take care of you and suggest menu items more to your liking.
Jackie, George & Johnny Eigner/owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place has great food and is so nice. We sit outside and have our lunch with our dog and watch the people get on and off the charter boat. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotWeatherGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have spent the last four winters in Marathon and Fish Tales is a well kept secret. I found it on tripadvisor trying to find some new local places to eat. The food was great and the portions were good. The service was fast and friendly. It is a very low key and local restaurant. They have homemade soups along with their homemade cole slaw which comes with the dinner. The prices are also reasonable. My husband and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales Market & Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Fish Tales Market & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing