We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina
Ranked #33 of 94 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Delicious coleslaw. Enjoyed the pulled pork Large fried oyster dinner.Casual dinner on the water. Laid back atmosphere. Great service.

Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Manager at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

It was a pleasure to serve you Amy! Hope to see you again soon, and please give our highly regarded and now "World Famous" Fried Key Lime Pie a try on your next visit

The Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,050 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

This restaurant is right on the waterfront, is very quaint in decor, and had live music when we went, so there was a great atmosphere.
Staff were friendly and drinks good.
The food was served very fast, and was ok, but not as good As I had expected based on the prices and some other reviews. the fried key lime pie is supposed to be award winning, but we didn't like it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HFMNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are very excited that you enjoyed the waterfront atmosphere, music and service, however sorry we didn't meet your expectations on food, including our signature dessert - deep fried key lime pie.
The Fried Key Lime Pie is an award winner and Porky's secret recipe was created in 1960s. Every restaurant down makes the key lime pie different way. We are the only place in town that smokes all the meats daily on premises. We also have a huge fresh local seafood selection. We hope you will stop by on your next visit down and give us another chance.
Sincerely,
Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Fabulous food - the lobster came in at 6pm & was on our plates by 8pm - it tasted accordingly! We had the loveliest evening here & to be honest our kids were a little sceptical when we stopped here as it looks quirky to say the least.....the staff were super lovely though & so kind & friendly to all of us. The very knowledgeable waiter recommended certain items which were fresh this evening & he was so genuinely excited by the availability of the freshest lobsters that we just had to go with his recommendations - and we were really not sorry! It was a fabulously fresh & tasty meal for everyone - even our 6 year old ate up completely (not an easy task with portions being on the generous side as everywhere in the keys really).
Also that night a brilliant gentleman going by the name of Joe Mama played guitar & sang - he had us all under his spell - what a charming guy & fun to listen to. He came over to our table when he took a break & chatted to us & our teenage boys, asked us where we come from & told us some hilarious & charming stories about his visit to Falmouth.
We ended up buying his CD and it gave us the soundtrack for our entire Florida holiday - still humming some of his catchy tunes now......Thank you, team at Porkys & Joe! We will come back one day & will definitely recommend you to all our friends & family who venture out to Florida!

PS: We only found this amazing place as the lady from the Marathon information centre recommended it - we wanted something that was not the standard tourist restaurant. Thanks! Great tip! (She also recommended several others - all of which were great recommendations - so stop off there & get yourself some little brochures & leaflets - worth it!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AGMHFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Manager at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Fortunately we are blessed to be able to offer such fresh local seafood offerings such as Florida Lobster and we are also proud of all of our musicians including Joe Mama!

We could not be more thankful that your experience was better than even expected! See you here at Porky's next time you visit the Keys.

The Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is the true keys experience tiki style dining on the water where the breeze blows through as you eat, The food and staff are absolutely amazing, Great live music nightly, and a perfect place to spend your night with friends down in the Florida Keys!!! Highly highly suggested to anybody looking to experience the real Florida Keys!!!

Thank Scubajay1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Manager at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

What a wonderful review; which is exactly what we strive for, so thanks so much Jay!

It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed 2 das in Marathon and on both evenings we Visited the Restaurant. The Service was very Friendly and gave us good advice! The was not the cheapest during our Trips but very fresh and tasty!!!! We Would definetly vorne back! The atmosphare was a typical Beach Bar !!! Greetings from Germany !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Schulzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Manager at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Thanks for the fabulous review! We remember you well and look forward to your return to the Keys!

The Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing