We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice informal, waterside eating place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina

Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina
Ranked #27 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice informal, waterside eating place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went twice on our recent trip - bother occasions it was friendly and informal - food was good and served quickly with minimal waiting. Beer was cold too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucky_luke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you very much!

Please stop by for some fun time again at your next visit to Marathon!

Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    390
    206
    86
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LaBelle, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dockside and delicious. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Fast and great food. The crabcake and the fish dip were really good. The fish come right up to the back of the place.

Helpful?
Thank gatorgirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Great! Thank you very much!

We cannot wait to have you over at your next visit to Marathon!

Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Friday morning and had the Smokehouse breakfast. The tender snd tasty smoked pork was delightful addition to a rather normal every day breakfast. My other guest had the Southern Country breakfast with corned beef hash which was cooked just right.
Our waitress was very attentive and helpful with menu questions. Overall, the service was darn good!

Helpful?
Thank Mike32792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you very much! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service was attentive :)

Please stop by for another meal at your next trip down to Marathon!

Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bad overall...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We dined here for lunch today; big mistake.
First...the restaurant was UNBEARABLY hot with one fan on us...in 90 degree weather.
We had 2 Servers; very confusing. Menu is too long to read, and I asked if the chef could prepare shrimp scampi...overwhelming "no.." Asked for dinner rolls ($18 entree didn't come with a salad)..that was an issue.
Portions are small; prices are very high...Overall my blackened shrimp over dried rice was awful, my friend's coconut shrimp basket was ok...size should have been double given the high prices.
Server didn't return to our table to check on us (??)
Bathrooms were a disgusting mess.

On one positive note, they are dog friendly.

Very unsatisfactory experience; heads up!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We do apologize for your unsatisfactory experience at Porky's Bayside.
The bathrooms have recently been repaired and updated. We are not sure when your visit was though. As far as the food is concerned, the dishes you describe, we do not offer. We have no problem to accommodate your special orders - including preparation of Shrimp Scampi, however please note, that it is not on our regular menu.
Besides, being located in South Florida, yes our summers are hot :) We do have though multiple fans - to be precise 10.
Thank you for your input.

Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ribs are delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Accommodated 10 people right away. Everyone loved their food! Ribs are really good! Tried the key lime pie. Not the best I have had. Too creamy and could hardly taste the lime. Another person in our party had the carrot cake. Wasn't the best. Not enough flavor. Skip dessert!

Helpful?
1 Thank mrscichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you very much! We are very glad to hear that the ribs were delicious. Sorry, we didn't meet your expectations on the desserts. Most of our customers love the deep fried key lime pie :(
We cannot wait to be able to accommodate you again at your next visit!
Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing