We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ -- Bad service!”

Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina
Ranked #27 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good BBQ -- Bad service!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My crabcake was entirely mediocre but my son really liked his Carolina Barbeque. The beer and wine were watered down to the point the IPA we ordered was tasteless. We tried another beer -- and that arrived with a plastic cap floating in it -- and all they did was take it off the bill and say oops sorry. It was stomach turning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynngir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your views on our restaurant. I'm glad to hear your son liked the North Carolina BBQ, but we're sorry to hear you weren't equally thrilled with the crab cakes. We do have many customers who enjoy the crab cakes and come back time after time, just for them. Taste is a personal experience, so one person's not-so-great may be another person's best-in-the -world. Folks have said we have the coldest beer on the island, but never that it's watered down. We'd never dream of doing such a thing. If you desire a more full bodied beer, the Milk Stout is a good choice. Our servers work hard to make sure each customer has a great experience. I'm glad to hear your server took the drink off the bill, sometimes mistakes do happen. We hope you'll stop by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    460
    233
    95
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dinner with the family”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant that had good food as well as being pet friendly. This was both. The only thing we didn't like was there oyster, they were not fresh. However, their baby back ribs and fried corn was amazing. This was a nice and quite dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gioia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun little hole in the wall place”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Porkys ended up being some good food and a fun atmosphere. Good little hole in the wall kind of spot next to a small marina. Te atmosphere was fun and very laid back. The food was good (I had BBQ beef brisket). Also, try a fried key lime pie while you're there. The service was decent, and the prices were average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jakelassiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great BBQ & seafood by the water.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband I went for dinner wanting to try something different than our usual restaurants. This place has a cool vibe situated on the bayside.
We had the platter for 2 which was great! We had the yellow tail, conch fritters and crab cakes. Next time id get the crab cakes without the sauce. We had 4 sides which were delicious. This was the right amount of food for 2 people. We finished this off with the fluffiest key lime pie that was awesome! Definitely give this a try if you're in the mood for something different. They don't take reservations but the turn over is fast. We had a very nice waitress (don't remember her name but she was Polish). The place was busy on a Tuesday night in June. Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annettie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An awesome meal by the bay.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We very much enjoyed our meals of beer butt chicken and baby back ribs. The sides of green beans, baked beans and coleslaw were tasty as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmysusie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing