We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good place to stop in for a quick bite”

Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House
Reserve with OpenTable
Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Stonegrill Dining is a new and exciting experience that allows your meal to be presented while cooking on a stone heated to 750 degrees to your table. High temperature sears in all the natural juices, nutrients & flavor giving you a taste beyond anything you've ever experienced. The Stonegrill is moisture activated. When the food is cooked, it will release from the stone, allowing you to turn it over or remove it without sticking. By dining from the Stonegrill, you are able to enjoy a meal freshly grilled to personal taste, whether it be rare, medium or well done. Your food will remain hot, allowing you to dine at leisure. Stonegrill Dining is recognized as one of the healthiest methods of cooking. The absence of oils or fats and the quick searing of food at high temperatures ensure delicious and healthy meals lower in calories that traditional cooking methods allow and taste unique to a Stonegrill.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very friendly service and laid-back atmosphere in this pretty spacious local fish and steak place. If you're staying in Marathon (or driving through on US-1) this is a good place to stop in for a quick bite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your input and hope to serve you again soon! Enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 904 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very disappointed in this restaurant. The food had no taste and the broiled scallops came sitting in water. The shrimp scampi was terrible with small shrimp and no taste. Same your money and don't go there.

Thank wuzzibear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

I was surprised to read your comment. We purchase the best seafood available. We use 16/20 shrimp in our scampi which is normal for the industry. Our scallops are served in a thin butter sauce. I am sorry that you were not happy and I hope that you would come back and give us the opportunity to change your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Prices a little high for the food we got. Our waitress didn't know the frogs legs we ordered could be fried or grilled. Service was OK . Probably will return just to see if service has improved. Surprised that salad bar was an extra charge considering the entree prices. Large menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lillypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch and were pleasantly surprised. There's an extensive salad bar with fresh fruits and vegetables. Soup and salad is $9.95 for all you can eat. Adding the salad bar to an entrée is $4.95. My husband had the fried shrimp, which was very good and served with particularly crispy, tasty fried. Our son had the hamburger - a large homemade patty grilled to perfection and served with the great fries.
The menu has something for everyone and the prices are in line or better than most places. It's the only place in the Keys that we've found with a salad bar.
The place is huge and well decorated - very comfortable. There's also a large bar with nice happy hour prices such as $1.50 for domestic beers.
We wish more people would try this place. It doesn't get much business. Maybe it needs to do more advertising because at the rate it's going, although the food is really good, the owners won't be able to cover the overhead in such a large restaurant.
Oh, and it's also perfect for groups because it has some rooms partitioned off from the larger dining areas. Lots of options. Try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sugarloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you so very much for your review....we truly appreciate your patronage. Hope to see you again soon! We are new and hoping to get better everyday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Found this restaurant by chance and in one week we ate there three times! The owners and staff were friendly and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble. The menu is extensive and we didn't eat the same thing twice (except for dessert). So much to choose from, even if you're a vegetarian.

We were a party of nine and although the restaurant was busy we didn't have to wait longer than five minutes for a table. Very accommodating. Food was superb and well presented. Highly recommend the Xango dessert - have never tasted anything like it in my life. Ribs, lobster, steak, pasta, salad this place has it all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you so much Helen for taking the time to review us. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again very soon! We are happy that you had a great dining experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing