We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small old school paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seashell Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I just read some of the negative reviews and Im not sure what they expected for the price?
I have been staying here for a few years and although it obviosly is not a modern 4 star hotel,it's a nice,old,Art deco type Hotel on the Ocean side and they keep it nice and clean.
It is very reasonably priced for the Keys and the service is courteous.
Theyhave a few things to do for the kids,like Kayak and they can go fish from the dock.
There are a few close restaurants so its in a good location.
If you want to be in the middle of the keys,not pay a mini fortune and dont mind old style building,then this will work for you

Room Tip: It is 2 story high but I prefer the first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiDadeBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 274 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Really.... DON'T DO IT!!!
I walked in, saw, and smelled, the room and walked right out, and left (despite having already paid!). There is no way in hell I was going to stay in this place.
This place should be closed down for health hazard. It has mold growing out of every corner and the air conditioner filters were filthy. I also noted numerous serious security hazards (ex; the bedroom window did not open, hence, in case of fire you're stuck). Then, they have outdoor furniture in the room to be used inside .... I mean, how cheap is that ... do not trust the photos you see, this is very misleading and dishonest.
The service was courteous, but, when I expressed my serious dissatisfaction, the lady at the desk didn't seem to care at all, and, didn't even try to offer me another room. She just said "....well, it's not for every one". Really, it should be for NO ONE!! But, hey, she didn't care, I had already paid online ....and this price is the worse rip off I've ever experienced, EVER!!!
So save your self trouble and money, don't do it!!
I found another hotel and the first thing I did was to get online to write this review!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Old building, probably built by a weekend warrior (non professional handyman) with home improvement store's leftovers with no idea how to use a level and a knowledge of symmetry. Mold in shower ceiling was complimentary (health hazard!). They have the nerve to leave an envelope for the maid for tips. Tiny bathroom with a sink close to the floor (I am not sure if this is up to building code) and bad tile job. The bedroom had a missing curtain on the street side window, so plenty of street light was coming in. Awkward position for the tv unless you have an out of this planet flexible neck. My room was #8. You can not take a dive in the ocean front. Is too low. When low tide, a bad smell is in the air. Definitely a no go place except if you a receiving enemy fire and you have no other place to take cover.

Room Tip: skip all of them.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NicolasU324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We once stayed at a really terrible hotel in the Keys so the bar for bad hotel is set pretty low...with that being said, I thought this hotel was super cute and perfect for the night. It was a very good price and exactly where we needed it to be. There was a working shower, tv, AC, and a very comfortable bed. Also, free coffee in the morning. It is also directly on the beach. The water was not too appealing, but there was a pier for fishing or boating. Overall, it was just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Okay, here's the scoop...there's nothing wrong with this place. If you are expecting world class luxuries and servants, go to a fancy resort. This is not a fancy resort. This is a laid back, relaxing, quiet place to get away from your normal life. At least it was to me. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and so did my companion. We will be returning there next year and plan to stay here each time we visit Marathon. The room was sparkling clean, the linens fresh, had all the modern coveniences AND she provided extra vellux blankets and two extra pillows. You can't even get that in the Hilton without asking for it. You are RIGHT on the beach and the sunrise is priceless. Beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3A. Private little porch, second floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was one of the cheapest @$150/night incl. taxes. I got what I paid for. Looked better on the internet pics than it actually was. Pics are deceiving. Looks like it was an old apt. facility at one time. Very old and run down. Room was dirty and needed alot of interior upgrades. Obviously the owner doesn't take a lot of pride in what they offer at this price. But it was one of the cheapest around. King bed was very hard and the sheets didn't fit the bed. Felt like the bed was short sheeted.

Room Tip: No recommendation other than to find a different hotel to stay. Don't let the pictures deceive y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBopMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A very pleasant place to stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. An unfortunate outbreak of some type of bugs coming from the skirting boards could put some customers off.
Long term road works going on just outside the main entrance did not spoil our stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Golfboy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
10.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
8.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
4.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Beach Resort

Address: 57612 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 57.5, Marathon, FL 33050-5625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $127 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seashell Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seashell Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashell Beach Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing