We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place to stay, beach just steps away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seashell Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Seashell is a quaint little place to relax in the keys. I found it very affordable. It is just off the highway and little hard to spot! We missed the driveway several times. The room was clean and simple. Nothing extravagant but it did have a little kitchen. There is a little self serve coffee station outside but we did not know it was there until we checked out. What we enjoyed the most was having the private ocean area just steps away from our door. There were several hammocks, and private dock. We didn't swim, but we did a lot of wading and picking up coconuts. I wished we could have stayed longer. If you are new to visiting the area (as we were !) be warned and prepaired for the of the tiny little biting bugs! I was glad I had bug spray!

All in all, I would recommend this place as a good BUDGET accommodation and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Seashell Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were happy to may a premium for what was touted as the unit with the best ocean view but the private veranda on the second floor was marred by the constant roar of traffic on the highway only steps away. Much better to sacrifice view and privacy for a unit away from the road. Our unit was large but the air conditioner was located right over the bed--luckily we could turn it off at night thanks to moderate temps and cool ocean breezes. The mattress on the Queen bed needs replacement--it sinks in the middle making it tough for a couple to find a comfortable position.
We like the old Florida atmosphere but except for the great views our room was not worth the
$139 rate.

Room Tip: select away from the road
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula33129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

First of all, I don't know where the one reviewer stayed who paid over 150 dollars. We're in a one bedroom with living area and kitchen , ocean front, for 89 dollars. Studios with kitchenettes ocean front are 69 dollars. Our apartment is clean, sunny, and has no odors of any kind, mentioned by one other reviewer. A maid comes around every morning to offer fresh towels, soap, toilet paper or whatever you need. Resort is in the name of the place but it has never pretended in description or website to be anything more than a clean, friendly isolated place to stay. No, no pool, no bar, no restaurant. If you want that, go elsewhere. Our only complaint (too strong of a word) is that the airconditioner in the living area is undersized, but the bedroom one is fine. The appliances are old but all are spotless and work well. I would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or pollo but I had no option to say that above in the ratings. If you hav...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Seashell and can't say that I would recommend it. When traveling to The Keys, you learn very quickly that everyone uses the term "Resort" loosely and this place is no exception. If you need a bed on the ocean and don't mind roughing it, you will survive. However, if you are in any way used to normal amenities of hotels I would avoid this one. Although the rooms were clean "ish", they are in no way updated or comfortable. Beds are horrible, the sitting area equally as horrible. That being said, you can look out your window and be 30 feet from the ocean --- mind you you can't get in it because of the mud, but you can certainly look.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLBuckeyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Although our room was small it was clean and quiet. The grounds were also well maintained and there was always someone working to maintain the property. It is not a five star resort and if that is what you are looking for,go somewhere else. It is not modern, but we found everything in working order and had no complaints. Not much to do in grassy key. Nature is beautiful and the smell is not as bad as the reviews. The owners cannot keep seaweed that washes ashore in the adjacent property from smelling; the "foul smell" that so many reviewers complained about did not bother us at all. Just note, this is not a swimming beach. There is a coffee hut for your morning cup. Overall, I found this property to be quaint and adequate for our needs. Also, Key west is about 70-75 minutes away, which can be kind of daunting after a night of revelry in the town, but we knew that going in. Excellent value here!

Room Tip: Ask about size of room when booking
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debz719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Seashell has the bes landscaping of all the hotels on grassy key.The rooms beat there close neihbor and though they are behind rainbow bend it is a lot cheaper and you do not have to hear the reastrant noises.I reccomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steampunkbatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is a very nice, quaint place to stay. Right on the beach with two piers. There are single kayaks to use during the stay, hammocks to rest in right on the sand. If you're looking for a quiet homey place this is just right. If you're looking for a Holiday Inn, this is not the place for you. Bed was a little uncomfortable. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Nice oceanview.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
795 reviews
9.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Beach Resort

Address: 57612 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 57.5, Marathon, FL 33050-5625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $110 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seashell Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seashell Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashell Beach Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing