We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, fairly priced”

Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill
Ranked #22 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Waterfront Tiki Bar
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, fairly priced”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

After checking in for a night's stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Marathon, we drove up and down US 1 to find a place for dinner and the pickings were slim. There was one spot we considered, but on returning to the hotel we saw the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill right in back and a check of the menu convinced us to stay right there, able to walk out the back door to the restaurant. With the open seating and a water view, it made for a pleasant evening. Our server, Teresa, was outgoing, friendly and attentive to our requests. We shared a watermelon salad, quite tasty, and our fish entrees, yellowtail snapper and mahi-mahi, were also very good and not overcooked, although the seasoning (both were blackened) could be toned down slightly so as to not overpower the seafood. Still, overall a very good meal, not cheap but reasonably priced, and most convenient for Holiday Inn guests.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RHM-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    386
    152
    76
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“:)”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I think that for how nice it looks it should have more options on the menu I mean the food was great but I would say that it more for a place to grab a lunch not for dinner

Helpful?
1 Thank jesus1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The waitress was cordial and friendly but not very attentive. And the grilled Mahi Mahi was small, dry, and lacked flavor - way overpriced and overdone. The service was slow and it wasn't very busy on the week-night we visited. Overall we were disappointed with the experience and wouldn't dine here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food, nice location, very convenient to HIX”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Ate here while staying 1 night at Holiday Inn Express right next door. Super convenient location! Nice outdoor setting. The specialty pizzas were Excellent! Good value for the money, nice to enjoy dinner and beers right next to hotel. Side note: we went fishing the next day before heading out of town. Guide docked right next to the restaurant when we were done, restaurant offered to cook our catch for us for free if we purchased drinks and sides! We couldn't stay due to travel arrangements but we thought that was a really cool offer and will take them up next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The restaurant was a little hard to find as its behind the Holiday Inn Express. Our food was outstanding. We were a little unsure whether to try this restaurant as some reviews weren't good. We found the service to be very good and setting nice and casual.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing