We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best subs in the Keys”

Marathon Liquors and Deli
Ranked #41 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Cross River, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best subs in the Keys”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This deli makes the best subs in the Keys. They use Boars Head deli meats, plus make specialty sandwiches like eggplant and chicken parm. I don't know where they get their bread from but it is terrific. They have some prepared salads that look good (I didn't try them). They use just the right combination of meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato and oil / vinegar to be perfect (let them sit in the frige for an hour -- they're even better!). They'll make them with mayo or butter if you're that kind person (I pitty you). The ladies in the place are exceedingly friendly and always good to shoot the breeze with. Don't miss the liquor store which, while a little short on selection, has the best prices in Marathon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not friendly”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I think I was overcharged for a bottle of vodka. The price on the shelf said $18.99 and I was charged $29.99. I blame myself for not questioning the guy at the register. But honestly this place gave me the creeps and I wanted to get out of there, it did not feel welcoming to outsiders. I feel like I was fleeced because they could tell I was not from around there, time to move on. Good luck if you go there, but I wish I would have known Walgreen's sold liquor, which is just up the street.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldkid6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing subs!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A cute, clean deli tucked inside a liquor store with tables outside to eat on. Mostly, folks take these sandwiches here to go.
Boars head meats on homemade sub loaves that melt in your mouth. Great solution for lunch on the go, or for a day on the water. They do have regular sliced bread choices, kaisers, wraps, and croissants too. However, get the sub roll. I buy these bread loaves to serve guests at dinner parties at my home. They are that good!
Most sandwiches are $10 with a few running to a max of $14. They are big and cab be easily shared.
Five stars!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3679lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST SUBS IN FLORIDA”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Coming from the North, and always have a good cheesesteak sub or meat sub, this place is number one. The staff is helpful and the owner Ralph is a nice man. If you do not like something there he will listen to you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprize!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great subs. Our favorite brand of lunch meat was used and lots of meat on the rolls! Good selection of sandwiches and wines, beer and liquor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marathon Liquors and Deli also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Marathon Liquors and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing