We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
76
34
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
76
34
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fun week shuffle board paddle boats ping pong heated pool the grounds and pool area key west this place has it all fish cleaning winn dixie free kayaks the entire week sombrero beach washer and dryer nice resort laid back atmosphere great vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 120 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2019

The Reef is one of the best values on the RCI system and we have been luck enough to stay there for the past 3 years during the holiday season. The location is great for our family and the extras like free bike access, kayaks, heated pool, good wifi which is hard to find in the Keys makes our stays there GREAT.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank ThatManCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRMGM, Manager at The Reef at Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you continue to enjoy our beautiful resort with your family. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you for the fourth time.

Best Regards,
Lazaro Flores - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

This little resort is ideal if you are looking for a laid-back location in the Keys. It lies in the heart of Marathon just off US1 so there is some traffic noise but this rapidly fades to a blur once you settle in and relax. The units are simple but well-maintained and fully equipped; the resort amenities are similarly straightforward (bicycles, kayaks etc); the grounds are delightful and the staff are extremely helpful. I cannot comment on the dock as I have not used it but other guests seemed very happy with it.
It's not for you if you are looking for a lot of high-powered activities and entertainment on-site but if you enjoy a peaceful, simple break then this
Looking forward to a return visit!

Room tip: Rooms facing the dock have a lovely outlook and are a little quieter
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRMGM, General Manager at The Reef at Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to review our property in such detail. We are very happy to know that your stay with us was a success, and we hope we can host you on your next vacation to the Florida Keys.

Warm Regards,
Lazaro Flores- GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Peaceful little Resort, with a place for Boats.Heated pool. Kitchen equipped with a lot of dishes. Location is excellent close to Kmart, Publix and Winn-Dixie. Sombrero Beach 2 miles away is brand new beach fenced with beautiful sand and playground for kids.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank oliveramilosavljevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRMGM, General Manager at The Reef at Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2019

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your stay with us was satisfactory, and you found our location and amenities to be convenient. We genuinely hope to have the opportunity to continue hosting you in your next Florida Keys vacation.

Tropical Regards,
Laz Flores- GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

The Reef is an older well maintained resort. The unit was a good size for 2 of us. Fully stocked kitchen, small bathrooms, good size bedrooms and lots of closet space. We were told the bed was 6 months old, however it was uncomfortable & sagged in the middle. It was a fisherman’s dream with lots of dock space and an area dedicated to clean the fish. We really do hope to return again soon. We are members with RCI and as usual we had an issue with check in. RCI did not update the required check in info so the resort did not have our reservation. After a few phone calls and someone at RCI ‘checking with their supervisor’ and faxing over the reservation we were checked in. Not acceptable RCI - we paid for a service and after hours of travel expected better.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank lynn03232019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2019

I loved this place. It is a beautiful property with a marina, pool, kayak and canoes all included at no charge. The home are unique, although not luxurious that are good enough for a fun week on the water. I rented a boat for the week and keep it right at the marina. Easy access to 7 mile bridge and only 1 hour from Key West to enjoy some nightlife.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bowdean2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRMGM, General Manager at The Reef at Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read your review and that you stay at the Reef was up to your standards. We hope to have the opportunity to host you on your next vacation to Marathon FL.

Tropical Regards,
Laz Flores - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews