We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Ranked #5 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Our recent stay was our second time a the Blackfin, but will certainly not be the last. The grounds are very well kept and the room was spacious and very clean. Could have stayed a month and felt comfortable. The staff was courteous and extremely professional. All possiable amenities are either on site or very close. The fresh water pool was a treat after the private beach. Dive shop & a great resturant are next door. One of the best memories was a great tropical resort, with courteous and professional staff at a very reasonable price. Looking forward to our next visit.

Regards,
Richard Roberts
Phone 954-661-6352
"droberts@flightdirector.com"

Stayed: February 2007
Thank SilverfoxFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 321 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2007

The rest of the Keys was extremely booked-up but there was availably here, that should have been a sign. The sheets and towels were clean but the rooms were very run down and needed a really good clean. Ants crawling round the tiles in the bathroom, dead and live bugs on the floor, holes in the comforter and the sofa was so dirty and that you couldn't tell the original pattern. The woodwork was chipped and holes in the doors where it looked like they had been kicked in. The beach wasn't so much a beach as a bit of sand by the moorings and at over $200 a night really not worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cayman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We stayed at the Blackfin Inn in May 2006 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is under new management and run by locals, so they have a good knowledge base of the best local eateries, etc. The owners are pleasant to talk to and are motorcycle enthusiasts, so that means if you arrive on two wheels you are greeted courteously. The rooms are VERY clean even with having all tile flooring throughout. The hotel is a little aged, but it's nestled in it's own little quiet marina just off the main road which makes for peaceful evenings. Their website boasts their own private beach but it's not. In reality, it's just a man-made sand area built up on a bulkhead right next to the marina. However, at night they have it lit up to include an underwater light so you can easily see all kinds of fish up close (one guest saw a nurse shark swim by). There is also a pool that is kept immaculate and is quite refreshing at the end of the day. There are plenty of places to eat nearby via foot if you don't mind walking a few blocks. Marathon itself is the perfect central location to travel north or south. This hotel is only 55 miles north of Key West (about 1.5 hrs drive due to speed limits), and around 22 miles south of Islamorada. The Bahia Honda State Park is only a 15 minute drive at most. We definately recommend this spot if you want a little quiet time at night, and I would suggest you request the "room at the very end nearest the marina" if it's available.

2  Thank Tony&Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

we stayed in blackfin a couple of years before and it was fine, but this time we were really disappointed. the room was not very clean and there was even a scorpion on the floor and ants in the cupboards,what a pity its been left to get into this state. we would never go back.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrPaulandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2006

After calling around to several hotels in Marathon, I was referred to Black Fin for a pet-friendly, smoke-free room. Due to local damage from Wilma, I was a bit concerned about staying in a hotel, but I thought this place was delightful and my 3-year Aussie, who normally does not like new places, was very happy there. We stayed in a smoke-free handicapped room close to the marina and beach. The open space under the countertops was convenient for puppy's water/food bowls and her crate. The room was clean - all tiled, the bathroom was huge (wheelchair-accessible) and I was able to get Internet access via dial-up. Housekeeping service attempted to clean each day, but puppy's barking scared her away, so she left all of the day's clean linens and towels, toiletries, etc. in a bag tied to the doorknob, which was fine. The Hurricane Grill was convenient for a bite to eat. Recommended if you have dog, will travel!

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2005

We stayed in our boat at the marina in a transient slip for about 5 days, and found the experience very pleasant.
Our slip included all of the amenities required, and the bathrooms were nice because we had our own keys, and there were no lines.
Other permanent residents in marina were nice, and respectful of us.
(although there was an incident where two marina residents got into an argument with eachother... but more entertaining than annoying... ha ha).
Worth the money.
We are considering staying again this year.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cat-man-doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2005

Stayed at Blackfin several days while on a weeklong break ... made reservations in advance and expected oceanfront but found it to be an old style concrete block strip motel probably built in the 50/60's. There is a marina and small peninsula which juts into the Gulf but is approx. the equivalent of a block or so away from the rooms. There is a small pool, no beach area. There were only 2-3 other people staying there the entire time we were there ... I can see why! For $90/day we could do better.

The room was antiquated ... the small bathroom had harvest gold 50's/60's style fixtures and ceramic tile. Mold in the bath and was actually fuzzy around window (in shower). Did have new curtains and bedspread, but the oldstyle brown woodgrain panelling on the walls appeared to have been wet previously and was bulging and warped with pieces of the molding missing. Furniture also appeared to have been wet and warped. There was a small refrigerator and sofa. Carpet was dirty and boxspring had waterstains all along the side ... was afraid to check out the mattress for fear of what we might find on it! Bedding and towels were clean, however.

Not a single room in the complex appeared to have a view of anything other than another row of motel rooms. There was a sliding glass door which backed up to a corridor in between the row of concrete block motel rooms ~ maybe 15 ft. between them with a roof over. Plastic chairs on the sidewalk outside the room by the parking lot. The grounds are well kept, with various pleasant outdoor sitting areas both between the office and the rooms, by the pool, and at the water; there is a small coin laundry for guest use. There is no one available in the office between 10 pm and 8 am, therefore no wakeup call possible. No breakfast offered, but there are various restaurants nearby.

29  Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
0.1 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackfin Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackfin Resort and Marina

Address: 4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2396
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $129 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackfin Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackfin Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfin Resort And Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing