We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon visit, April 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Ranked #5 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Quite and peaceful place in the middle of the Keys... The previous time I got a better room and thought all rooms were alike but you need to make sure you check on the accommodations that you need before booking with Hotels.com

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvngrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Blackfin Resort and Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 321 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Actually other than the floors being filthy the rest of the resort was good. Beds were a bit hard for my liking but not awful. Nice place to watch the sunset, nice gardens, But the floors were bad enough one trip across and my feet were black. funny because it didn't look that bad. behing the doors hadn't been swept, Dust layered anywhere that wasn't right in the open. So other than needing a good cleaning it was ok,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rondakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a good place to base yourself in the Keys. Approximately halfway between Key Largo to the north and Key West to the south. This accommodation is next door to a restaurant which has some hearty local food on offer. The room was clean, and comfortable. Wifi worked well. Know breakfast is offered, but there is a good place about a mile down the road where you can get a good feed. The hotel staff were all nice elderly people, and good to deal with. I chose to extend my stay, and they had know problem facilitating this. I would recommend to any visitor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Blackfin Resort was ideal for our 3-day visit to the Keys. It is affordable, acceptably maintained and offers a feel of the Old Florida that is especially what we enjoy when visiting the Keys. It is also relatively close to many attractions this area offers. Don't miss the sunset views from the marina.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in the Voyage room.. The beds were extremely comfortable and everything was clean. The man at the front desk, Mark was super polite and helpful. The marina is gorgeous but I wouldn't call their "beach" a beach. The only complaint I have is that the walls seem to be super thin and you can hear everyone outside and next door. But overall it was a nice place to stay passing through to Key West!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMcGov11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I get 'old Florida Keys Charm' but the Black Fin does not have it in my opinion. It was clean and the room was comfortable and spacious that is true but don't know what the dim hallway off the back is...the motel seemed like a place for road workers and middle aged bikers. Other than one lady at the desk, the front desk folks seemed indifferent and almost rude. I would have enjoyed the 'beachy area' but two guys were fishing there catching the fish I had gone down there to photograph..admittedly they let the colorful fish go but don't know if he survived the hook experience. That really upset me. Plus here they were swinging fishing line around. The only place to sit was like a sidewalk with a chair outside your door unless you went down to the 'beach'. If you just need a place to sleep and don't need much atmosphere, then this is it. Even the bar seemed a bit sleezy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cropsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Friendly, clean, reasonably priced, and with big rooms and bathrooms. There was a nice pool, laundry, and a couple grill areas with tables.

The sunset views from a nice "beachy" area were great - it didn't have water access, but there were palm trees, loungers, chairs, etc.. and fishing off of the very end.

There is a bar/restaurant at the street-side part of the property as well, so you really have everything you need right there, as well as other food options in walking distance.

The room had a nice TV, fridge, microwave, and a 3-cup coffee maker, and chairs for each room on the front stoop area if you wanted to get a bit of air.

If you are debating, stay here - I don't see how you wouldn't be happy with your choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cwitkows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.8 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackfin Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackfin Resort and Marina

Address: 4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2396
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $128 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackfin Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackfin Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfin Resort And Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing