We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Ranked #5 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a nice motel, convenient for a day trip to Key West if you are on a budget. We stayed for 2 nights and I would choose this hotel again if we were in the area. The guy behind the desk was friendly and helpful when we checking in and out. The rooms and parking were away from the road so it was quite quiet. We arrived in time to watch the sun set from the little marina with was very pretty. The room was a good size and the bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished and was nice and clean looking although lacking a hair dryer. The floor in the room could have been cleaner, it had tiles instead of a carpet and my feet were quite dirty after walking around in bare feet. The bed was a bit soft for me, but having said that I did sleep well. The hotel's wifi was not good and I had trouble getting usable connection on my smart phone. We did however manage to connect to the free wifi from a neighbouring property which worked OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    119
    51
    26
    18
See reviews for
68
147
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Picky people stay home! This place is functional, clean & quirky. It lacks an actual beach, but has a charming sand-covered bulkhead area with chairs, table/shelter & ladder into the water. There is also a lovely clean pool with lounge chairs located right beside a BBQ area.

We rented two units; both were clean with new mini frigs, microwaves, headboards and matching side tables. We especially liked the 100% tiled floors (no dirty carpeting).

Sombrero Beach (the best public beach in Keys is just a couple miles away). The Turtle Hospital is five minutes south (turtle rescue, rehabilitation and release); terrific Powerpoint show and tour for $15, 1 1/2 hrs. We will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: The units nearest the marina are larger with full kitchens (also closer to pool/BBQ); we cooked brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I spend many weeks a year at this resort and enjoy it tremendously. It certainly isn't the Hilton, but we wouldn't want it any other way. Besides, they don't charge like the Hilton either. The staff is very personal and accomodating, the grounds are full of blooming flowers and plants that are well kept and maintained. The pool area is simple but clean, heated and mostly secluded. The Rooms are simple and very clean, with updated matresses, bathrooms, and TV's, offering everything from small singles to family size efficiencies. A short walk through the marina takes you to absolute sunset paradise for a total open water view of the Gulf chocked full of reclining chairs and relaxation for the entire day. Best of all it's "cooler friendly" and the local mariners make you feel at home. (They even gave my dog treats when we walked by). Speaking of our K-9 companion this is a very dog friendly resort so relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: If on a tight budget I would suggest the single rooms. A slight upgrade to a double king is much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and a nice hot shower in a remodeled bathroom awaited us on our trip. A few steps away and you are at the point and could enjoy the small beach area after walking past the pool. The adjacent Hurricane Restaurant and Bar serves lunch and dinner and nightly entertainment. Local restaurants with incredible breakfasts were a few minutes drive away. I would recommend if you would like a taste of the Keys before the large chain hotels and condos take these charming establishments away.

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows when you check in if you sleep with more than one pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is chock full of vintage charm but if you are looking for a Ritz-Carlton (or a great view), this is not it. The room was adequately sized for our needs. The queen-bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was so very helpful and friendly and even delivered us extra pillows (within 5 minutes of making the request). The pool was well-maintained and clean, as was the charming little beach area. As far as convenient location, you couldn't ask for more. The fridge and microwave were nice and both worked fine, as did the AC. We would definitely stay here, again.

Room Tip: Ask for as close to the pool as possible, to help minimize traffic noise from Overseas Hwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSGallantPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

With a trip feauring some indulgent and budget overnights, this definitely falls in the budget, yet nice enough category. Upsides were nice reception, great subset watching spot and close access to k-mart :) hey it's a lot sleepier than key west so you may have to invent your own fun. The grounds are well kept and there is a fantastic pizza spot down the road a couple miles. Mattresses, or at least ours, was in desperate need of replacing. You'll know when you fall off the bed while sitting anywhere near the edge. Besides the light right outside our window (which apparently couldn't be turned off) and the sponge like mattresses we survived. And had some fun.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manifestoagency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London SE27
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Blackfin resort & staff there could not have been more friendly or helpful.

The facilities were fairly standard for this type of motel & were clean & comfortable, if a bit faded. Bathroom was very clean with good powerful shower over the bath. There was a coffee machine, fridge, microwave. No in room safe. Flat screen TV.Laundry facilities on site.

We encountered some problems on the first day- the TV would not work, which was fixed very quickly by the manager. Then the Wifi would not work & again as soon as reported, the staff responded & re-set the router which resolved the problem. On the second night, the lock on the door jammed which meant that we had to change rooms. The manager was very apologetic. The second room (adjacent to the first) was the mirror image of the first & just as clean & comfortable. However, the unplanned move meant that my husband left his wallet in the drawer in the first room & did not discover this until we had moved on to Key West. When he called the Blackfin they had his wallet & he was able to collect it. They were so honest, kind & helpful- thank you!

It was very quiet when we stayed, (I think perhaps we were the only guests the first night) & Marathon appeared to be a sleepy & laid back kind of place. It has supermarkets & banks across the busy Ocean Highway. There is a restaurant & bar next to the Blackfin & the food we had there on the first night was good (even if for USA, the portions seemed smaller than usual).

The motel complex has a small enclosed swimming pool- which looked clean enough but we did not use. However, the 'jewel in the crown' was the view from the marina over the bay, which has the most wonderful sunsets. There are a few loungers & a covered area to sit & watch the sun go down. There is also an underwater light so that you can see fish swimming in the sea.

Overall it was a very relaxing & welcoming place to stop & we would wholeheartedly recommend the Blackfin to anyone travelling in the Keys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.1 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
1.8 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackfin Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackfin Resort and Marina

Property: Blackfin Resort and Marina
Address: 4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2396
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackfin Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackfin Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfin Resort And Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing