We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort but would stay, again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Ranked #5 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is chock full of vintage charm but if you are looking for a Ritz-Carlton (or a great view), this is not it. The room was adequately sized for our needs. The queen-bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was so very helpful and friendly and even delivered us extra pillows (within 5 minutes of making the request). The pool was well-maintained and clean, as was the charming little beach area. As far as convenient location, you couldn't ask for more. The fridge and microwave were nice and both worked fine, as did the AC. We would definitely stay here, again.

Room Tip: Ask for as close to the pool as possible, to help minimize traffic noise from Overseas Hwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSGallantPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

With a trip feauring some indulgent and budget overnights, this definitely falls in the budget, yet nice enough category. Upsides were nice reception, great subset watching spot and close access to k-mart :) hey it's a lot sleepier than key west so you may have to invent your own fun. The grounds are well kept and there is a fantastic pizza spot down the road a couple miles. Mattresses, or at least ours, was in desperate need of replacing. You'll know when you fall off the bed while sitting anywhere near the edge. Besides the light right outside our window (which apparently couldn't be turned off) and the sponge like mattresses we survived. And had some fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manifestoagency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Blackfin resort & staff there could not have been more friendly or helpful.

The facilities were fairly standard for this type of motel & were clean & comfortable, if a bit faded. Bathroom was very clean with good powerful shower over the bath. There was a coffee machine, fridge, microwave. No in room safe. Flat screen TV.Laundry facilities on site.

We encountered some problems on the first day- the TV would not work, which was fixed very quickly by the manager. Then the Wifi would not work & again as soon as reported, the staff responded & re-set the router which resolved the problem. On the second night, the lock on the door jammed which meant that we had to change rooms. The manager was very apologetic. The second room (adjacent to the first) was the mirror image of the first & just as clean & comfortable. However, the unplanned move meant that my husband left his wallet in the drawer in the first room & did not discover this until we had moved on to Key West. When he called the Blackfin they had his wallet & he was able to collect it. They were so honest, kind & helpful- thank you!

It was very quiet when we stayed, (I think perhaps we were the only guests the first night) & Marathon appeared to be a sleepy & laid back kind of place. It has supermarkets & banks across the busy Ocean Highway. There is a restaurant & bar next to the Blackfin & the food we had there on the first night was good (even if for USA, the portions seemed smaller than usual).

The motel complex has a small enclosed swimming pool- which looked clean enough but we did not use. However, the 'jewel in the crown' was the view from the marina over the bay, which has the most wonderful sunsets. There are a few loungers & a covered area to sit & watch the sun go down. There is also an underwater light so that you can see fish swimming in the sea.

Overall it was a very relaxing & welcoming place to stop & we would wholeheartedly recommend the Blackfin to anyone travelling in the Keys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have been going to the BLackfin Resort for many years now. First place we went after our wedding. Very quiet property, conviently located, clean with great staff. Looks like the TVs and bathrooms have rennovated lately as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked the Blackfin after reading other reviews; and I'm so glad I did. It's a two star property as it doesn't have the bells and whistles like a sauna, gym, etc. What it does have is a nice quiet atmosphere along with clean surroundings and everything in a room a person could want. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom looked to have been completely redone recently. The floors were all tile. The furniture was wicker and in good condition. There was also a small table and two chairs in our double bed room. There was a microwave and small refrigerator along with a flat screen tv. The property itself was well cared for. We especially enjoyed the "sunset beach". This was an area at the waterfront which had a great area to sit and enjoy the view and the sunset as well as to enjoy the company of other travelers. They have underwater lights that go on after dark and fish of all kinds can be seen. The marina could accomodate boats of many sizes and was also nice. We didn't use the pool, but it was also very clean and inviting. I would go back to Blackfin again. If you want a nice place to stay that's very clean and well cared for, book a room here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbaragwen270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spend a few days in Marathon with husband and kids...had everything we needed. Kids loved walking out on the jetty at night to watch the sunset. Pool was nice. Dive boat was walking distance from the room! Restaurant on property was good and reasonable. Office staff and locals were helpful. Housekeeping kept us well stocked on supplies daily. It's nothing fancy but was a great rate and worked great for what we needed!...only downfall was the beds need updated!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweet_Peas_Mom_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is a 2 star hotel so no frills. No problem didn't spend much time in it anyway. The front desk staff was great, our room was clean, bed comfortable, and the AC worke. To top it off my husband left his cell phone and they are shipping his phone via ups to us so he can have it. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you everyone at the Blackfin for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedneckPrincess2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
18.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.8 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
1.2 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackfin Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackfin Resort and Marina

Address: 4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2396
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $132 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackfin Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blackfin Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfin Resort And Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing