We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day of Snapper fishing”

Aikatsi Sportfishing Inc
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capt. Bobby Manske is the owner/operator of Aikatsi Sport fishing with over 30 year of experience fishing in the Marathon and Islamorada area. I’ll get you hooked inside and out on fishing in the fabulous Florida Keys. We specialize in light tackle live bait sport fishing. Fish for and catch Dolphin, Sailfish, and Wahoo, Tuna, Snapper, Grouper, Kingfish, Cobia, Shark, Tarpon and more. Day or night trips available. Experienced or novice anglers and families welcome.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day of Snapper fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We fished with Capt. Bobby on Tuesday of this past week. We caught 27 mangrove snappers in a 3/4 day trip. We had a blast! Bobby is great to fish with and is very helpful explaining techniques to catch more fish. We would certainly go out again with Captain Bobby!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank louissimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Excellent Days Fishing With Aikatsi Sportfishing and Captain Bobby Manske”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Fished with Captain Bobby Manske on 6/13 and 6/14. The first day was offshore trolling and the second was bottom fishing for snapper, both trips were excellent.

My wife and I have been fishing with Bobby at least once a year for the last 10 years. Bobby really knows how to fish and is a pleasure to be with on the boat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Boiler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inside reef fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I spent last week in Marathon hoping to get out with Bobby for 2-3 trips. Thanks to the poor weather we were only able to do 2 trips. WOW! What an experience. In spite of the poor conditions, Captain Bobby put us unto some incredible yellow tail and mangrove snapper fishing along with some unbelievable grouper fishing. The fish were too big for my wife to catch the first trip, so Bobby took us to a different spot the second trip where they were a little smaller. We had a ball! Both trips we filled the cooler with (in my opinion) for their size, some of the best fighting & eating fish on the planet. It wasn't easy. Bobby had to find the fish, figure out exactly how to position the boat, what type/size line to use, bait to use, teach/coach us how to present the bait & hook & fight the fish. It was completely different to the type of fishing we were used to. Being able to utilize Bobby's knowledge was invaluable/priceless. There's no way we could have caught these fish without him. We will be back! I think we are hooked for life!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tarpon, Snappers with a Touch of Humour on the High Seas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just returned from fishing with Capt Bobby Manske of Aikatsi Sportfishing and could not have had a better time. Day 1 was an offshore trip in semi rough seas. Captain made the desicion to not go way offshore in search of Dolphin due to the wind and sea setup. We did see several boats heading out, but based on radio traffic, Capt Bobby made the right choice as no one caught more than 1 Dolphin and everyone got beat up by the weather. Way to go Capt, he made the right call!!
We boated our limit of various snappers, including Mangrove and Yellowtail, released twice as many as we kept including lots of grouper that were just shy of keeper size, but lots of fun to fight.
Day 2 was an evening Tarpon trip to the Seven Mile Bridge. The knowledge the Capt exhibited about sea conditions, what to expect as far as the bite goes and how to hook and fight Tarpon was fantastic. We had 2 good bites that I messed up by reeling to soon and then not reeling soon enough. We caught 2 Jacks that gave a good fight and then the wait began again.
Just after 9 PM, the rod "got heavy" so I dropped the tip as the line started peeling off the reel. The fight was on., we were hooked up. The coordination between the mate and Capt was fantastic, Anchor dissengaged, the outboards rored as they worked to get us away from the bridge where the Trapon could easily break off. Great instruction from Capt Bobby during the fight had the mate touching the leader in a scant 18 minutes. Another 10 mins and the Tarpon was in the boat for a few pictures then returned to the sea.
Can say enough good things about the experience of fishing with Captain Bobby. He is very knowledgable about the fishery and entertainingly funny in a crusty Captain sort of way! You will catch fish, even when the other boats don't.Great value as well. Can't wait to book my next trip with Aikatsi Sportfishing!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jollyman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“two fishing trips one deap sea and one tarpon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had a great day! we where the only ones that caught fish that day out of his marine ! the other day we caught atarpon with a bullshark to boot. He is very informational about fisking and knows what he is doing . I will go out with him again . The picture below we all had clean shirts on when we left the dock ! They were dirty because of the fish we caught.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aikatsi Sportfishing Inc also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Aikatsi Sportfishing Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing