We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive, informal dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KING Seafood Market & Restaurant

KING Seafood Market & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: KING Seafood Retail Market & Restaurant - Open 7 DAYS, 10am-9pm. You can order by the pound or by the menu. Our specialty is Fresh Seafood, from local fisherman. Our commercial boats provide fresh Stone Crab & Lobster (in season), our OPEN Kitchen allows you to see how we prepare your meal when you order.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, informal dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This restaurant/fish market is located right on the corner of 109th Ocean and Route 1. It has long display counters so I presume it is mostly a fish market though I went for supper and the cases were mostly empty. You order your food at the counter, then have a seat. Pick up your food at the front when it is ready. There are maybe half a dozen tables, clean, but nothing fancy. Food is very fresh. Most menu items are under $10, portions are reasonable, certainly not overgenerous. I had the blackened shrimp which was $10 with a small side of very good slaw. The shrimp were fresh and seasoned and grilled just right - there were 8 medium sized ones on a mountain of average fries. Staff was friendly, helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tobynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    146
    39
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
392 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Really good supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on March 11th on the way back to Homestead from a walk on 7 mile bridge. We had the specials: 1/2 BBQ ribs, corn-on-the-cob, beans, and toast; Cajun shrimp, asparagus, rice pilaf, and salad with yummy soy dressing. Great meal and delicious. My hubby who doesn't like beans gobbled them down. We would stop here again if we were staying longer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Get your own food,they will wipe the table.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Order at the counter, find one of the few tables and go back to pick it up when ready.
The glasses were handled with the same hands using the register and money therefore were suspect for germs. We wrapped a napkin around them to drink. Food was OK but there were several items special, notably the French fried Yucca Root and the Tostones-plantain patties. Both were a side which came with te meal..We rated this place low for the questionable hygiene as that dragged down the overall quality if sanitary conditions are questionable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch as we were looking to get some seafood. It is a small place but very clean and friendly. They have fresh food and it was very good and ready very quick. We had the shrimp basket fried and the scallop basket grilled and a lobster sandwich with a side of onion rings. Everything was good. I wish we could have gone back again to try some other things on the menu but it was our last day in the keys.

Helpful?
Thank Steelpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had to go twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great seafood choices, authentic Cuban classics. i Wish we would have stopped earlier in our trip. We probably would have eaten there every day. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KING Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to KING Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing