We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nothing else like it”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The Deck
Pure Luxury
Kayak and other toys
Dock and Boat
Sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marathon, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stevie420
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing else like it”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
10
people found this review helpful

This is such a unique property! We loved the privacy, the space, the sea life. The house is very spacious and comfortable. We went there with the idea that we were "glamping" as we knew the island is off the grid and that despite the claim of "luxury accommodations," the solar and wind power could pose problems and the salt air can be very hard on houses. Going in with that attitude, we were not disappointed. We had some problems with the power for the first 3-4 days (it shut off every night and occasionally during the day if we used more than one appliance) but that improved after the caretakers visited. (I swear they did something to fix it). The moat and the surrounding area was great for snorkeling. We tried floating around it and that is a little tough with the rocks, but no complaining. We enjoyed doing a bit of exploring, saw amazing sunsets, as well as lots of Parrot fish, Damsels, a rock fish, a flounder, stingray, lobsters, sea urchins, crabs, and more - even a nurse shark. It was fun for everyone from the 5-year old on up. A previous review said that parts of the island were inaccessible. That's simply not true. Where the seawall has been damages, it is roped off, but you just go another way. There was no where we could not go. I will say, I wish they found a better way to rope off those areas than bright orange plastic fencing - it did take away from the scenery a bit. We experienced an amazing storm. Be prepared that could happen any time. The lightening was so bright we literally shielded our eyes and the thunder was deafening. We had to run around and get everything off of the railings and close the sliding doors as the rain was driving into the house. Some advice: bring air mattresses so you can sleep outside at least occasionally. It's beautiful, and sometimes a much better breeze. Also, if you are sleeping in the master, bring eye masks as there is no sleeping once the sun is up! The only caveats: 1. I do wish there was a hourly or per gallon charge for diesel rather than a flat fee. I would never have wanted the AC on all of the time, especially during the day when we were in and out so much, but there were a couple of windless nights where it would have been much appreciated. If not the full AC, perhaps outfitting the bedrooms with window units, just for nights. 2. I wish the caretakers had made it a point to check in with us. I reached out on Tuesday (we had been there since Saturday) to them to find out when they were coming. It was only when they arrived Wednesday that we found out the issues we had experienced with the power were unusual. Our first night we tried turning on the TV for my son who had hurt himself and wanted to lie on the sofa. The power immediately shut off. Each of the first 3-4 nights, the power (and the ceiling fans) shut off while we were sleeping and if we ran the coffee maker and microwave together, it shut off as well. We were later told we should have no trouble running everything we want to. A next day check-in would have given us an opportunity to discover this was unusual. Instead, we took it as something we just had to deal with. Overall tho, a great trip for a family, friends, etc. We went to the mainland a couple of times, but I truly would have been happy never leaving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorinorth
Ellicottville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
25
people found this review helpful

Unfortunately, our stay was disappointing. We left after one night because there was only a dab of luke-warm water. The owner told us this is just the case due to the solar and wind system. Why promote a large, deep soaking tub if there's only enough warm water to fill it 5"? The house is not luxury, but well worn and well used. Significant storm damage has destroyed parts of the island, leaving washed out drop-offs marked by yellow hazard tape. Our responses from the owner with our dissatisfaction left us unhappy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: concept of private island
Liked least: no hot water
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2013
This person came in for only 2 nights and was expecting something different. The water gets hot, however on that day there was a slight problem which our caretaker came out to the island immediately to take care of. This guest was extremely rude to the care taker. She was expecting a spa and it is a luxury private island. The house is a luxury home. There is only one area about 6 feet long that has yellow caution tape around it because of a storm that has some erosion around the rocks and is there only for safety of the guests. We have just refurnished and painted. This guest was unhappy before she even got to the house. This is the first complaint we have had and it would not of mattered what we did, this guest would have been unhappy. See other reviews and see that this Private Island is a unforgettable vacation. We did everything to try to satisfy this guest. Please feel free to check our web site at: http://www.myluxuryvacation.info/ and you will see current photos of the property. We get repeats every year because it is a great property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Reviewed June 18, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
19
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2012
The Island is a spectacular place and actually we do not mind if the boat is used however there is not a radio on board so we suggest that you bring a radio with you and use the boat. The caretaker was probably being cautious. There are plenty of places to get more gas if you were to so desire, of course you are responsible for the boat. We always recommend sandals when walking the island because you never know what you could step on. I hope you will give us another try in the future. Also know the dock is being replaced soon. I hope you enjoyed the fantastic views and all of the luxuries inside the house itself as well as the fantastic diving all around the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rockwood
Reviewed February 7, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta Georgia
Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tucson
Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing