We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hammocks are a great, a comfortable and relaxing place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hammocks at Marathon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hammocks at Marathon
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach
1 review
“The Hammocks are a great, a comfortable and relaxing place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

The staff at the Hammocks were very helpful, pleasant, and wanted to make very sure we were comfortable during our stay. The Tiki Bar and pool area had great food and service. At the Tiki bar, Julie Hopkins made us feel right at home with her smile, conversation, and suggestions for things to do and service. She was very pleasant and helpful. The food was great and Paul's preparation of the pasta dishes at Pastabilities were excellent. Patty and Precious at the front desk were very friendly and made us feel like we were VIP guests.

If a resort were to make its patrons as part of a family, it is the Hammocks.

A special thank you,
Ben Bibbo and Diann Detro

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineVeroBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    118
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
89
132
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
990 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We spent one night here after attending Fantasy Fest in Key West as it was the closest decent accommodation to Key West that we could find (45 miles north of Key West) as KW hotels have 5 night minimum during Fantasy Fest. The resort is beautifully located; the rooms are very nice with flat screen tv's, adequate bathrooms, nice kitchenettes etc. You can get food at the Tiki Bar but the service is terribly slow - well over an hour for breakfast and the poor waitress is run off her feet but keeps a good attitude. Food was good once it arrived but two complaints. The breakfast entrees come with free coffee but my husband and I don't drink coffee. When we asked if we could swap them out for a soda instead, the answer was a resounding no! Also, the toast with our breakfast entrees came dry not buttered. When we asked the chef (who had to deliver our meals because the waitress was run off her feet) if we could please have some butter and jelly, he looked at us as if we were asking for the moon! Ten minutes later he came back with a small plastic cup of liquified butter for us to pour on our toast and some jelly that looked like it was well past its sell by date! That was all very bizarre we felt. We have never had breakfast at any restaurant where they couldn't provide butter or margarine and jelly! My husband was not impressed. However we tried to focus on the lovely views, the birdlife in abundance and the boating activity and not let it bother us too much - after all it was just toast! The other problem is that the music played at the Tiki bar which is next to the pool area is very loud and if you are not an R & B fan (which we are not) the radio station is a bit whiny and annoying! After the breakfast period which runs until 11 a.m. - the music was cranked up even louder. This meant that everyone relaxing around the pool (mainly adults but also 6 kids) had to start speaking very loudly to hear each other speak. Since it was impossible to read my book with all this noise going on, at this point, we left and drove home to Miami. If loud music doesn't bother you, then you'll enjoy the facilities but we wanted peace and quiet after the craziness of Fantasy Fest and just wanted to chill out for the morning after we checked out of the hotel (early check out 10 a.m.) and there was none! Resort is very nice but these issues would stop me personally from returning but I would recommend it to friends of mine who are not as fussy as me about noise levels!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

This resort was the first I have stayed in as a new Bluegreen owner and I have to say that I adored it. The room was more spacious than we expected and was very clean. The full fridge and mini-kitchen came in very handy for saving money on meals. The resort has a great little bar right on the Bay where I had the best blackend mahi salad I have eaten in the keys and I go every year and try mahi every place I eat. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The only bad part I could find is that you must pay for wireless internet. This is very annoying as you can stay at the Ramada for $59 dollars and get free wi-fi. I expected more from a 'resort' in that aspect. Overall though this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocean622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Relaxing and laid back. Not much going on for the late night party crowd but plenty to do in the daytime and early evening. Well kept, good service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Don't belive everything you hear or read. I read some of the reviews and was a little concerned prior to arrival but I was very happy with the decision to stay here. The experience started off well at the front desk, concierge was very helpful, room was workable, and the property was very nice.

The pool and grills were better than average. The property is a hotel that has been converted to two bedroom units and is laid out very well. There is plenty to do around Marathon and Key West is 45 minutes away. The Starfish was a good snorkel trip, Jerry's boat rental was a reasonable way to get to fish all day and the restaurtant can cook up your catch at a reasonable price. Porkys and the Keys Fisheries were good places to eat in town. I will go back and probably stay at Marathon the next time too. We went to Publix and picked up groceries for breakfast and some lunches and it was 1/2 mile N/E. No cost laundry onsite was a great bonus (shared with floor) and the internet in the room was a reasonable cost $6-7. If you like good service, warm weather and especially breathtaking sunsets.....stay at the Hammocks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

When we arrived it took 20 minutes to check in b/c the man behind the desk did not know what he was doing. He messed up charging my credit card and in the process he and another co-worker started arguing. She was of no help to him, but they fixed it when the manager came over. They finally checked us in (at 4:30- check in was supposed to be at 4) We got to our room and the maid was still there, but she left right away. The Tiki bar was nice and things were ok UNTIL we pulled back the bedspread and there was hair (different types!) all over the sheets, lipstick stains on the pillow cases and a BLOOD stain on the mattress pad. DISGUSTING. We went through all of the bedding and had to change two beds, four pillows, and a mattress pad. (by ourselves b/c housekeeping was not there) The maintenance man that brought us clean bedding was appauled as well. We took pictures b/c we wanted to show the manager the next morning. They said a mngr would be in at 8:00, but we didn't get to see him until 10:00. We demanded a refund and left to another hotel. He gave us a refund but was not very genuine w/ his apology. Also- they do not have a "beach"- it's a little sand on a boat ramp. It would have been nice had it been cleaned. We wanted to spend extra money to have a nice place to stay, but it definitely didn't work out that way. They also charge an extra $50 a day if you want housekeeping to clean the room! AND... they took my sister's hair towel- didn't even look to see if it was a hotel one! We'd get charged if we took one of theirs!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angievb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjsnorkeling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We loved this place. It was great. The staff is wonderful. Great events running all day! You can charter a boat, or just fish off the dock. Beautiful scenery. Nice pool. I can't say enough about this place. Close to everything. If you go try the Mahi Mahi. Next time we will definitely bring the kids. This place is very family friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjsnorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Property: The Hammocks at Marathon
Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing