We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a letdown, the worst of my timeshare experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hammocks at Marathon
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a letdown, the worst of my timeshare experiences”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are Bluegreen timeshare owners, so I had to compare this resort to the other timeshares we've stayed at and this is the worst, by far. Considering the cost of the stay, what we got in return was unacceptable. Apparently, the management gives away the best rooms to the people coming from nearby (mostly Miami) for a weekend, while we, flying all the way from Calgary, Canada, staying for a whole week, were put in literally the worst 1-bedroom unit possible. To think that someone even designated this as a bedroom at all is ridiculous. (That's considering the fact that we booked over 6 months in advance). Everyone proceeded to apologize profusely, yet did not do anything to change the situation, even after we'd informed time that this will definitely be the last time we're ever going to visit the Hammocks. Obviously, when you're coming from a cold country to a tropical paradise, the last thing you expect is having a "view" of a garden shed and the side fence, unable to sit on the patio due to overwhelming construction on the property nearby. Otherwise, the rooms are smaller than typical 1-br, and no kitchen makes it very difficult to cater for yourself for a week, and with high prices for going out, you'd have to be creative to not spend a fortune on food.
One night I was excited to try the resort activities-it was a wine tasting night. So, we got all excited for a proper fun evening at the Tiki Bar. Lo and behold, we show up, it's a line-up to get your plastic (!) cup filled up with wine, from a server. When I asked if she's going to be explaining the wine or at least talking about it a bit, she just gave me an amused look. So, we sat down with our wine and crackers, and after 5 minuted noticed an overpowering fish smell coming in- that's the fishermen coming back with a fresh catch, gutting their fish right there, in the marina, while you're trying to get you "wine notes"- needless to say, we quickly finished up and left. The management should be ashamed of hosting such activities that make you feel dumb for ever wasting your time, or scheduling your day around them. Get some class, really!
The activities desk personnell varies: at night, there's a very knowledgeable guy working with lots of good suggestions, but at daytime the women are utterly useless. Makes me wonder how someone like that can ever get hired.
Also, when I needed to print out my boarding pass at the ancient computer they have at the reception, something happened and the whole thing froze, yet I received no assistance from either the activities desk person, sitting there dwindling her thumbs (literally!) or the front desk. Half an hour later she'd asked if I wanted to give her my info, so she could do it on her computer. Half an hour! Anyways, the bottom line is, untrained staff, terrible treatment of timeshare owners and overall dated, poor resort. I'd rather spend extra and stay in the Key West next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ksenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Ksenoid,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hammocks. We regret to learn of your disappointment as a Bluegreen owner. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss your experience further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    119
    36
    15
    7
See reviews for
95
135
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were a little worried about going here as some of the reviews were awful. However, we wondered if we had come to a different place! It was clean. It smelt fresh. The staff were lovely. Kind and polite and helpful. The room was large, quiet, clean well equipped and very comfortable. Only small drawback was that the TV was old and had no guide and none available at reception. Solved by buying a guide at Public. Otherwise wonderful. Would go back like a shot. Loved Marathon and loads to see and do.

Room Tip: Try to get on a higher floor if you can. We had no sea view but balcony was lovely and sunny. Room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saramck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello saramck,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are delighted you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Christmas eve. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.We had an amazing view from our balcony and bedroom..There is a great pool, hot tub, Tiki bar, three grills.Customer service was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, large and with a very nice kitchen. We woke to that gorgeous view...stay here if you enjoy making memories ...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pcbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello pcbeachgal,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are thrilled that we were able to share happiness and make memories for you. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and amazing view. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Marathon Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a nice time. Our room was on the 3rd floor.. but comfortable. The room was clean and very comfortable. The only missing thing was the carpet. The Pool small but OK. Hot tub was fun. Best thing about this hotel is its Tiki bar and breathtaking view. Food was quiet good - best chicken quesadillas. Do not forget to order Key west sunset ale. The view from the tiki bar is awesome. Cook and other staff members were very friendly.

Overall a great place to stay and relax !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abhi_sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Abhi_sana,

We are happy you had a nice and relaxing time at The Hammocks. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room and the on-site amenities. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
474 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It appears that there are new and older parts of this property but I'm not sure even requesting helps get what you want.

We booked significantly ahead and requested a water view. We even stopped in 3 days before our actual check in to make sure we were on the list....it didn't happen. We were quite disappointed as we had a good deal of time in the area and really wanted to relax at the property.

Be specific on what you want....read reviews and to determine if this is a stop for you.

Our room was dated and view from balcony (on ground level) was of the back of a garage from next door....first time EVER, we didn't even open the sliding door and check out the outside!

We especially enjoyed the morning walk out to the boat dock where native birds were giving us a show and sun rise was beautiful....however, it's hard to get there in the morning as pool gates are locked to check before you venture out!

Room Tip: Cross your fingers after you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom98wmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello mom98wmu,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We regret to learn of any disappointment you experienced during your stay. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I called the place to find out rates and more information about the resort and location since I've never been to the Keys. The lady who took my call was rude and had a patronizing attitude. She persisted to only tell me that it was a "luxury hotel". I ended up not booking.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunset T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello Sunset T,

Bluegreen is committed to sharing happiness with all of our guests. Your comments regarding the service you received certainly concern us. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to provide addtional details or discuss further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stephanie, remembered our names for 3 days! We had a nice time. Our view was awful. The room was nicely appointed and the beds were comfortable. Clean and very comfortable. The Pool was great as was the hot tub. We ate at the Tiki bar and the food was quiet good and appropriate to waterfront dining. The staff at the Tiki bar were also friendly and attentive. It is quiet a maze to rooms but that is not a big deal. The free washer/dryer were a very nice touch which was well used. I have went to Bluegreen properties in the Smokies and Aruba and this was far better than either of these.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water by all means.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueFalconRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello BlueFalconRidge,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Hammocks. We are happy you found the accommodations clean and very comfortable and enjoyed the pool area. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff. We hope to share happiness with you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Property: The Hammocks at Marathon
Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing