We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice - lovely grounds, well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hammocks at Marathon
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice - lovely grounds, well maintained”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just spent several days at the Hammocks. Great location, clean, well maintained. Close to everything you need. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Great ideas for dinner. Small kitchenette but functioned since we did not want to spend much time in the room or cook on vacation. Stocked for what we needed. Comfortable bed. Beach towels and chairs available. Coffee/juice bar. Laundry facilities available. Look forward to another visit here.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are facing the Gulf and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    118
    36
    15
    7
See reviews for
94
135
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location the Keys! My family stayed there for four nights and had a good time. Nice place, nothing fancy or over the top. They had an Easter egg hunt for The little ones on Easter and have planned events for the kids every afternoon. Kids enjoyed the pool. The kitchenette is small but it worked for us. Rooms were a good size (could use some more light fixtures). Key West is about an hour way so make sure to go down one day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank molliegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom villa at the Hammocks. We took our friends with us as a thank you for something they did for us. I was embarassed. I am being generous with a rating of 3. First of all, the place needs an overhaul. It is time worn. Our unit had a few issues in particular. First, the seal on the frig door was broken. So you had to take really extra care to make sure the door closed properly, The tv in the living room did not work but they fixed it right away. The oven in the unit did not have enough support for the shelves. When we took out a casserole the over rack came with it and we lost part of the casserole.
The location is good. The view is good. But if you're looking for a newer resort with newer amenities, this isn't the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor IL
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My sister and our husbands stayed 4 days/3 nights at the Hammocks in Marathon - It was a wonderful experience - our rooms/suite were perfect for us - having separate bathrooms; the rooms were so big and roomy, beds were comfortable, nice kitchen for snacks/breakfast was great. (Only fault: we were placed in the far back side - no view - we reserved for 8 months - a distance to walk to the front entrance etc.) Coming from the north in February, the balmy warm weather allowed us to enjoy everything being offered: the Tiki Bar with food, beverage and light entertainment, Beautiful pool - laundry. Staff were extremely nice and helpful. They created a welcome "birthday" wine and cheese gift for my husband (ordered by our kids) We drove to beautiful clean Sombrero Beach only a couple miles away for some time in the ocean - Drove to Key West for the Day. Thank you for a very nice stay- The Hammocks. We sure recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Our room was located totally in the back and no view - we had reserved 8 months in advance -They did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our first stay in Marathon, the Hammocks was a great find! Centrally located near lots of things. In fact, theres so much to do just in Marathon alone, we stayed there most of our week. The room didnt have a very good view...call ahead to reserve a view. But, we enjoyed it anyway. There are boat and bike rentals there and fishing charters from the marina behind the Hammocks. Wonderfulpool and hot tub. Bartender was great! Everyone made us feel welcome! There are only 50 rooms, so plan way ahead. We enjoyed upper 70' s weather and sunshine the entire stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanhowardhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are Bluegreen timeshare owners and we took our friends to The Hammocks for 2 nights, January 30-31, 2013 as a first leg of our trip. We were a little nervous due to a few less than glowing, reviews, but we went for it and were very happy with the results. The resort is small but cute and the grounds are well maintained. Our 2 bedroom unit was decently sized and the kitchen was nicely stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. We had a pretty view of the pool, tiki bar and a nice grilling area. Boat and jet ski rentals were right next door. We wanted to go out on jet skis but it was too windy. The front desk staff was very friendly and we were not bugged all of the time about coming down for a presentation like many timeshare places do. Marathon is a good home base for exploring the Keys,being right in the middle. The only negative thing that I have to say is that the furniture in our unit was stained and we had to cover the couch and chair with beach towels to feel comfortable sitting on them. But the beds and bed linens were good. We will be back with the family when we can stay longer and explore more of the Keys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here for 6 days, I really liked this place, the staff were very friendly and helpful. This place is very clean and the building is very well taking care of. The rooms were clean and felt large and the view was nice. I would suggest staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Property: The Hammocks at Marathon
Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing