We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal in a strip mall”
Review of Food For Thought

Food For Thought
Ranked #33 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Food For Thought is a Natural Foods Marketplace natural and vegan/vegetarian/raw Cafe. We have fresh organic produce every Monday by noon. We are a single owned store and not a chain of any other Food For Thought. We look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed March 14, 2014

i was happy to find this place close to where we were staying. i was able to grab a portabella wrap and a berry greens smoothie along with a few other things. i really enjoyed it and ate it over two meals. it was a nice break from "vacation eating" that i needed! the book selection caught my eye and there was a lot of good info in a tiny space as well as a great selection of natural products.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chellera1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodforthought5800, Manager at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We're happy you found us & enjoyed your healthy respite from "vacation eating". We hope you come back when you're in town again! Be happy & healthy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 113 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Food and service was great. Loved the vegetarian and vegan options. Homemade vegan sour cream was better then the real thing and this was from the carnivore in the party.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TeamWildBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodforthought5800, Manager at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

How we love it when our food tantalizes the taste buds of unsuspecting diners in a good way! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

For the GF/V traveler, this is a great find! Love the organic store, the selection, and the café options. The prices are all a little high, but organic food on an island is not easy to come by, so... keep that in mind. The staff are all really friendly as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hacomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodforthought5800, Manager at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Gluten free vegans breathe a sign of relief, we have options for you! Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

What a rare and welcome find! Located inside a health food store the cafe has a limited, yet well planned menu. Great for when you tire of fried entrees and chain restaurants. They also serve coffee, teas and totally natural smoothies (no mixes or added sugar).

Thank Conquistadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodforthought5800, Manager at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for the great review, we love to hear from healthy eaters!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Perfect place to find what you need. The store is clean and neat and the staff is very knowledgeable. Abundance of vitamins, food, books, etc. Cafe is delicious, but expect to walk out paying a lot. I have paid close to $20 on lunch just for myself. There is seating inside and outside.

Thank Keyz2Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodforthought5800, Manager at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We're glad you enjoy our store & cafe, thanks for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing