We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly service”
Review of Food For Thought

Food For Thought
Ranked #33 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food For Thought is a Natural Foods Marketplace natural and vegan/vegetarian/raw Cafe. We have fresh organic produce every Monday by noon. We are a single owned store and not a chain of any other Food For Thought. We look forward to seeing you!
georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly service”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stopped here for lunch. Food was a bit pricey but pretty good. We had burritos and shakes. I had a berry shake which was really "grainy" tasting. They had a great selection of vegan groceries though such as vegan cheeses, snacks etc.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amargrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodforthought5800, staff at Food For Thought, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Glad you enjoyed our food! Our smoothies and juices can come with a variety of boots from bee pollen to chia to hemp protein, sometimes a combo of boosts do become "grainy". We hope you'll stop in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    24
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Thank Goodness for Food For Thought! It's the only organic cafe in this area and I know I can always count on a delicious and healthy meal at Food For Thought. Ellin has done a wonderful job expanding this business into what it is today, and now you can buy fresh organic produce every Monday! When my kids are sick, or if I have an ailment I want to treat homeopathically, I can count on the staff to direct me to the proper supplements, and there's plenty to choose from. I Love This Place!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious every time...”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I love to stop into food for thought whenever I can. There is NO other place in town to get yummy healthy organic food. There are always unique soups and grain bowls (and thanks for posting the specials on facebook!!) if I ever feel a little run down or like I may be getting sick the green juice knocks it out and it tastes awesome! The staff is always smiling and actually makes you feel like they WANT to help you- not because its their job but because its their passion. So refreshing. Thank you for helping us treat ourselves better!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I visit this restaurant at least once a month if not more to eat. The food is absolutely delicious. The servings are just right, the staff are so friendly and always willing to help you. Yesterday had the Italian Medley Grain Bowl and I can't say how good it was. Then for desert I had the Key Lime Pie. OMG OMG - I felt like I had visited a 5 star restaurant. They never cease to amaze me. I have NEVER had anything from here that wasn't GREAT, smoothies included.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida keys
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Becoming a 'Can Not Miss' stop off when in Marathon”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Located near the back of the popular Gulfside Village Plaza is a wonderful health food cafe' and food store.

Food for thought serves excellent smoothies, sandwiches, coffee, treats and more! Also find a store owner with a wealth of information about vitamins, minerals, holistic medicines, and the greats reads that you are surrounded by. By the way, the shelves are stocked, so they will have it!

In summary, You will love this little place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marathonFLbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing